MEET MARIE GODLEY, AUTHOR OF TIME SLIDE, THE GUARDIAN OF THE GLOBE AND THE SPECIAL CHRISTMAS BEAR

Time Slide    Guardian Globe    xmas bear

MARIE GODLEY:

I have always loved books, from my childhood, when I would read at night by torchlight, under the blankets of course, until I landed a job in a library when I was 17. I was in heaven. Being a member of staff I could have 99 items out on my library card; I’m surprised that there were any books left for others to borrow.

Fast forward 8 years; I had my first child and from now on I could indulge in my love for picture books. As the children grew it was a two way teaching process – I introduced them to authors I had loved as a child and they introduced me to authors who weren’t around when I was a child.

I never consciously thought about becoming an author. My daughter was 10 and a test requirement was that she had to write a story in 45mins; that seemed a hard task and as she went away to practise for her homework, I decided to have a go too. You see I’d had an idea; a vision of a teddy in Santa’s workshop. And so The Special Christmas Bear was born and the rest, as they say, is history. Since then I’ve always been writing, whether it goes on to be published or not.

My writing has improved over the years; I’m afraid (or happy to say) that the saying ‘practise makes perfect’ is true. Every writer knows that re-writing takes as long as getting the story down in the first place. A big part of my improvement has been due to meeting some fellow authors; who, I’m delighted to now call friends. They read my work and give me honest pointers and it is with their help and encouragement that I’m now trying my hand at writing for teenagers.

I have just completed a story about an air elemental which I’m trying to find representation for – any agents or publishers please take note – and I’m re-writing (see there is that word again) a story about a girl who is whisked away to a kingdom ruled by magic, with the mission of saving it from ruin. This story I have great affection for, so I hope that one day someone will fall in love with it as much as me and publish it.

I’ve already mentioned my friends, whom I owe my thanks to but before I go, I must thank my family too. They put up with me shutting myself away to scribble furiously when the words are flowing or pretend to listen when I’m trying to talk ideas through out loud. A special thanks to my daughter who reads every chapter I produce and then is forced to re-read them when I’ve changed them.

Finally thank you to Jen for having me on her blog.

If you haven’t had enough of my ramblings you can find me on Twitter and Facebook

My website is www.mariegodley.moonfruit.com and my own blog is

www.marie-mariegodleybooks.blogspot.com

About jenniferloiske

Jennifer Loiske lives in Finland in Naantali, which is a small sunny town on the southwest coast. She is a pre-school teacher by profession but she stayed at home when her youngest daughter suffered brain fever, which developed severe epilepsy in 2004. She is a workaholic Teen/Young Adult author, who loves dark fantasy, teen movies, chips and candies and warm sunny days. She’s also very keen on charity work and a big part of her royalties goes to the charity; mainly to help families with epileptic children but also to the epilepsy units in the hospitals. As a huge fan of dark novels Jennifer's bookshelf is full of books from L.J. Smith, Alyson Noel, Stephanie Meyer, Chloe Neill, Michelle Rowen, Jennifer L. Armentrout, Amanda Hocking and Lauren Kate. She’s also a huge fan of music from Evanescence, Linkin Park, Within Temptation, OneRepublic and Disturbed. But her hunger for music is endless and depend on what mood she’s in or what kind of book she’s working on. She can be pretty much an omnivore when it comes to music.
This entry was posted in Author's Corner and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to MEET MARIE GODLEY, AUTHOR OF TIME SLIDE, THE GUARDIAN OF THE GLOBE AND THE SPECIAL CHRISTMAS BEAR

  1. Hi, Jennifer -your blog looks great. And thanks for following mine.

  2. Seyi sandra says:

    You’ve got a great blog! Thanks for following my site, I appreciate it!
    Blessings:)

  3. I could not resist commenting. Exceptionally
    well written!

Leave a Reply

