“It’s the little things that matter…”

Charity Book 1“No one has ever become poor by giving.” (Anne Frank)

 

I give a huge part of my profits to charity but what does charity mean to me? Is a smile from a stranger enough of a reward to me? Do I buy a piece of heaven and a guarantee that when the time comes the heavenly gates will be open for me? Or am I simply stupid as surely I could use all the money coming from my books for myself?

The answer is simple. I have always strongly believed that doing good things to others will come back to me someday. Karma, you may say, and I do agree, but of course it’s so much more than that. I don’t walk around with a small notebook in my hand and write ‘my good deeds’ down. It’s more like a habit. Something, that goes without saying. Help if you can.

So here’s one story about charity. I think after reading it you understand better what is the force driving me to do this:

Just before last Christmas I went to buy toys, games, DVDs and books for the Children’s Epilepsy Unit and when I was paying my purchases the salesperson asked what am I going to do with all these things? I smiled and told that I’m going to wrap each one of them with nice gift paper and take them to the hospital. She eyed me for a moment and closed the cash desk asking the other customers to go to the next desk. Then she silently started to pack the huge pile of gifts with me. When I glanced at her I saw she was crying. After a while she told me about her neighbour who had a sick baby and how awful the whole situation was for them. I blinked. I happened to know that family as they had been in a same charity show on TV with my epileptic daughter and I. I cried too. Small world isn’t it? We packed the rest of the stuff in a warm atmosphere, chatting like old friends and when we were ready I left, smiling. She waved and smiled back.

The next day my daughter and I went to Hospital with our gift sack and the Children’s Epilepsy Unit’s personnel had made us non-alcohol mulled wine and children from the units had baked some gingerbread. The feeling after giving those gifts was unspeakably good.

The next month my daughter’s epilepsy got worse and we had to spend eighteen days in the hospital. The smile on her face when she saw those new DVD’s and games brightened the whole unit not to mention how much easier and faster the days passed as she had something else to do than just lying down and waiting for another seizure. So yeah, giving rocks!

My fellow writers and I have united our forces and published a charity book, TALES OF AN OLD WIZARD, for children age 9 and up. All profits go to charity. If you want to read more or join our celebration you are welcome to our launch party on 28th of February.

Book Launch Party on Facebook!

 

“Charity is willingly given from the heart.” (Rush Limbaugh)

 

TALES OF AN OLD WIZARD on Amazon.com (Kindle)

Amazon UK (Kindle)

Lulu.com (Paperback)

AUTHORS FOR CHARITY ON FACEBOOK

About jenniferloiske

Jennifer Loiske lives in Finland in Naantali, which is a small sunny town on the southwest coast. She is a pre-school teacher by profession but she stayed at home when her youngest daughter suffered brain fever, which developed severe epilepsy in 2004. She is a workaholic Teen/Young Adult author, who loves dark fantasy, teen movies, chips and candies and warm sunny days. She’s also very keen on charity work and a big part of her royalties goes to the charity; mainly to help families with epileptic children but also to the epilepsy units in the hospitals. As a huge fan of dark novels Jennifer's bookshelf is full of books from L.J. Smith, Alyson Noel, Stephanie Meyer, Chloe Neill, Michelle Rowen, Jennifer L. Armentrout, Amanda Hocking and Lauren Kate. She’s also a huge fan of music from Evanescence, Linkin Park, Within Temptation, OneRepublic and Disturbed. But her hunger for music is endless and depend on what mood she’s in or what kind of book she’s working on. She can be pretty much an omnivore when it comes to music.
This entry was posted in Books, Charity, My writing journey and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

