Seven minutes with Jennifer: Interview of Doug Simpson

S_m_w_JDoug Simpson, welcome to my virtual couch!

Tell us a something about yourself?

Doug Simpson is a retired high school teacher who has turned his talents to writing. His first novel, a spiritual mystery titled Soul Awakening, was published in the United States in October of 2011, by Booklocker. It was reissued in October of 2012 by 5 Prince Publishing as Soul Awakening, Book I of the Dacque Chronicles. For further details visit them at http://5princebooks.com/. It is available in print and eBook format through most bookstores around the world. Soul Rescue, Book II of the Dacque Chronicles was published in November of 2012, and Soul Mind, Book III of the Dacque Chronicles was published in January of 2013. His magazine and website articles have been published in 2010 to 2013 in Australia, Canada, France, India, South Africa, the United Kingdom, and the United States. His articles can be accessed through his website at http://dousimp.mnsi.net.

When and why did you begin writing?

That is not exactly a short story, but here goes.

Over thirty years ago, my wife introduced me to one of America’s almost-lost miracle-men. His name was Edgar Cayce. He is regarded by many scholars in the field as America’s legendary mystic. Edgar gave over fifteen thousand psychic readings in a self-induced, trance-like state. His trance state was so deep that, in the early days of his amazing medical readings, a group of doubting Doctors performed their own sadistic experiments on him to prove he was duping his clients. One Doctor took his pocketknife and slid it fully under one of Edgar’s fingernails. He never reacted and there was no blood. Another sadist poked a hatpin right through Edgar’s cheek. He never reacted, but there may have been a drop of blood. But, as you can imagine, when Edgar came out of his trance state, all hell broke loose!

Throughout approximately forty years Edgar gave over ten thousand medical readings for people, many of whom Edgar never met and who might have been located a thousand or more miles away at the time of the reading. On occasion, in his deep trance state, Edgar prescribed treatments and remedies that had not yet been invented.

As amazing as the medical readings were, it was Edgar’s life or reincarnation readings that seized my attention. Some two thousand real live individuals, or their guardians, requested approximately twenty-five hundred life readings where they were given information on a few of their previous incarnations, specifically those ones which were significant to their understanding of the reasons for their souls selecting the particular bodies that they resided in, in their current incarnations. Reincarnated souls that appeared in Edgar’s readings went as far back as the days of Adam and Eve, and included the souls of Mary Magdalene, Thomas Jefferson and Martha Washington, to name just a few. If you are curious, visit my website at http://dousimp.mnsi.net and you can access the articles I have written on these three historical characters, and many others.

Once certain individuals, seriously interested in researching ‘the-other-side,’ were convinced that Edgar was the real deal; they asked inquisitive questions about Creation and many other topics. One answer, significant to our question, is Edgar’s account of the Creation of souls. In brief, think of God as an enormous energy field that can think. After God Created and evolved the Earth with its animals and numerous other creatures, but no humans, God realized that He had done a pretty good job but He was lonely. Man had not been in the original plan, so for company, God Created a calculated explosion in His energy field and all souls were Created at the same time from the God-Energy. There is much more to this story, but in a nutshell, God Created humans as residences where souls could experience ‘life’. Souls incarnate time and time again until they learn the required lessons to become God-like once more.

After years of researching the Edgar Cayce readings, I ‘had’ to verify my beliefs so I enlisted the services of a licensed hypnotist and experienced four past-life regression sessions, uncovering a number of my past lifetimes.

Now one hundred percent convinced of reincarnation, I commenced to write my reincarnation articles in 2010, using the Edgar Cayce readings. I parlayed my knowledge and experience and, with some helpful guidance from the other side along the journey, wrote my first novel, Soul Awakening, Book I of the Dacque Chronicles. It is a work of fiction but was inspired by a series of actual events. Probably all of the major events reported in Soul Awakening have been experienced by me, by individuals I know, confided to me or individuals I know, or were revealed in the Edgar Cayce readings. Four of the incarnations uncovered by the characters in Soul Awakening are my actual past lifetimes, right down to the name and location.

DougSimpson good photoWhen did you first consider yourself a writer?

I guess that would be after a number of my Edgar Cayce articles had been published. I basically sat back one day and told myself “I can do this!”

Where do you get ideas for your stories?

My research into the 2500 Edgar Cayce life or reincarnation readings supplied me with a wonderful collection of real lifetimes for real people. I used some of these copyrighted readings in my Edgar Cayce articles, and followed the Edgar Cayce Foundation’s rules for their use, but I would never use these real lifetimes in my novels. What they did do was provide me with an abundance of ideas for fictional incarnations in my novels.

What was the hardest part of writing your books?

For me it was making sure the genealogy did not conflict. My characters discover a number of past lifetimes, some but not all of which they shared together. In the later books I introduce new characters who share previous lives with the original Soul Awakening characters. My protagonist, Dacque LaRose, discovered about a dozen past lifetimes before the Dacque Chronicles begin, none of which he told me about. As the other characters discover past lives they shared with Dacque’s soul I have to be careful that he did not have two at the same time.

Have you ever had a writer’s block and if yes, how did you make it go away?

I would say no or at least not for more than a few hours. I am fortunate to have contacts on the-other-side that supply me with ideas when I temporarily come up with an empty tank, and thankfully, also with ideas that are better than my original plans. I have now completed four books in the Dacque Chronicles and none of them ended up anywhere close to what I had originally planned.

Indie or traditional publishing?

Traditional.

What is the force behind your writing?

With my articles from the Edgar Cayce readings, I wanted to provide concrete proof of reincarnation. With my pure-fiction novels I hope to encourage readers to do further research into the possibility that reincarnation is real.

Do you have any weird writing habits?

Actually, no.

What is your favorite cartoon character?

My favorite cartoon is B.C. I never cease to be amazed at some of the ridiculously funny situations the writers are able to dream up.

Your favorite author(s)? Book(s)?Movie(s)? TV-series?

Author: It was the Dan Brown books, starting with the Da Vinci Code, that got me revved-up to take a shot at writing novels.

Books: True stores about reincarnation.

TV-series: Reincarnation or spirit/ghost shows like Medium and Ghost Whisperer.

Movies: I prefer those with survival of the spirit and soul themes.

What do you do in your spare time?

What is spare time?

Haha! I hear you…Any current projects you’d like to share?

I recently submitted Soul Connections, Book IV of the Dacque Chronicles to my editor and it should be published in the next six months or so. I am well into writing Abandoned Soul, Book V of the Dacque Chronicles.

Tell us something unique about yourself you’d like the readers to know…

I converse with spirits or souls on the other side.

Wow! That is unique! If you could meet one ‘celebrity’ author who would it be?

Dan Brown.

Do you have any words of wisdom for the other writers?

It took me about forty years of failed attempts to produce a publishable manuscript. If you want to be a writer, learn from your experiences but keep trying.

Favorite quote?

You have only lost when you stop trying.

Oh, I love that one! Where can people find out more about you and your books:

My website at http://dousimp.mnsi.net will direct readers to all of my published articles and books. For purchase locations readers can visit my publisher, 5 Prince Publishing, at http://www.5princebooks.com/buy.htm.

Do you want to tell us something about your book? Short synopsis? Excerpt? 

This is probably way too long already for me to do that. My website has short synopses and cover pictures for the three published books.

SoulAwakening-Cover5PP-Final (2)   SoulRescue-cover2   SoulMind-2 cover

About jenniferloiske

Jennifer Loiske lives in Finland in Naantali, which is a small sunny town on the southwest coast. She is a pre-school teacher by profession but she stayed at home when her youngest daughter suffered brain fever, which developed severe epilepsy in 2004. She is a workaholic Teen/Young Adult author, who loves dark fantasy, teen movies, chips and candies and warm sunny days. She’s also very keen on charity work and a big part of her royalties goes to the charity; mainly to help families with epileptic children but also to the epilepsy units in the hospitals. As a huge fan of dark novels Jennifer's bookshelf is full of books from L.J. Smith, Alyson Noel, Stephanie Meyer, Chloe Neill, Michelle Rowen, Jennifer L. Armentrout, Amanda Hocking and Lauren Kate. She’s also a huge fan of music from Evanescence, Linkin Park, Within Temptation, OneRepublic and Disturbed. But her hunger for music is endless and depend on what mood she’s in or what kind of book she’s working on. She can be pretty much an omnivore when it comes to music.
This entry was posted in Seven minutes with Jennifer; Interviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Seven minutes with Jennifer: Interview of Doug Simpson

  1. J.P. LaneJ says:

    Fascinating interview. I’ve read Edgar Cayce, but not anywhere as extensively as you have, Doug. I read your first novel Soul Awakening – partly because I was curious about it, and also because I’m a firm believer in re-incarnation though I’m a practicing Christian. But there’s very strong evidence in the New Testament that the Jews of Jesus’ time believed in re-incarnation. Wish I’d known some of the characters’ experiences in Soul Awakening were actually yours. Knowing that now, I’m going to read it again – before I move onto your next book. Great interview! Will share. I’m sure there are a lot of people who will be interested in it.

  2. Pingback: Doug Simpson Blog Tour! | AUTHOR JENNIFER LOISKE

Leave a Reply

