Inspired by places!

I’ve been asked a lot where do I get the ideas to my stories.

Everywhere. Sometimes the idea of a new story can start from one word. Or I might see interesting looking person and start plotting about her/his life. Sometimes it can even be a song that triggers my inspiration, but one thing is sure, I always need a place for my imaginary scenes.

Here are some places from my books that I found extremely fascinating:

IMG_1373This burned-looking house can be found in the middle of London. It’s near Westminster Bridge, surrounded by modern, very expensive-looking houses, and I thought it just screamed for a murder scene so I used it in CLUB NUMBER FIVE (Book 1 of Immortal Blood Series).

Excerpt from Club Number Five:

Kate’s father had once told us about a bust he had made. He had followed some small criminal to an abandoned house, expecting to find some drug stash, but instead he had ended up in the middle of a kidnapping and had saved a little girl’s life. He had described the house in such detail that Kate and I had no option but to find it. It was one of the scariest experiences of my life. The house was next to the Thames and looked a bit burned and ready to be crushed. All the other houses around it were nice and obviously owned by people with money, so why was this house, probably worth a couple of million pounds, left there abandoned and open to anyone who wanted to enter? Spooky.

I turned and sped up a little. It would take only a few minutes to get there. I could see the London Eye looming above the buildings; the house was quite close to it. I made it to the river and saw that the house was just the same as before. Good. No one would ever find me there. I entered it carefully. When I came to the stone wall in front of the house I looked both ways, just in case, before I jumped over it. The door was hanging halfloose and I couldn’t see a single window that wasn’t broken. I shivered. Was I really serious?

I kicked the door open silently and went in…

IMG_1358Highgate Cemetery in London…Google it, and I’m sure I don’t need to say more. It’s a paradise for all paranormal lovers and its history with the paranormal activity is inscrutable! So could there be a better place for ending scene in a vampire book?! I don’t think so! You can find this cemetery in my upcoming book, LUCAS (Book 2 of Immortal Blood Series).

Excerpt of LUCAS (not edited!):

It took about fifteen minutes to get to the cemetery, which was perfect. The air was chilly and I could smell the rain coming so I picked a small clearing for our meeting place. It was close enough to the Egyptian Avenue for Sam to find us but yet far enough from the few nosy tourists who roamed the cemetery with the tour guide, their fingers on their brand new smartphones ready to snap shots in every two seconds. Although, this cemetery was known for its paranormal avenue so they’d probably just be happy to witness whatever horrible future I had in mind for the girls.

Kate stood next to a hidden statue and I ordered her to pick branches from the ground. Yes, I could’ve done it myself but I was sure if I’d turn my back on her she’d vanish into the thick bushes so I had decided to keep my eyes firmly on her. When she had gathered a good pile I made her kneel and I put the branches behind her, sticking them into the ground one at the time. She glanced at them and started to tremble.

“Are you going to kill me?”

“Why would I do that? You’ve already given me what I wanted,” I let my hand rest on her hair for a while.

She swallowed and moved her head away. I picked a branch and played with it with my fingers. I touched its ends and made sure they were sharp enough for what I had in mind.

“Are you going to kill Sam?” Kate asked, shaken.

“Maybe,” I breathed.

68784_450967864460_5000247_nBLACK DIAMOND (Book 1 of McLean Twins) started from a birthday party invitation to England’s countryside. The minute I Googled the party venue and saw the pictures, my fingers started to tickle and I had to start writing. Endless green fields, old dry-stone walls, mysterious woods, huge stone manors…Yes, I lost my heart to Burford long before I actually visited it and I knew the idea of young witches and demons would haunt me until I’d give in and put it on the paper…

Excerpt of BLACK DIAMOND:

Huge oaks and maples formed an avenue along which the limo glided slowly. The fields either side seemed to go on endlessly. Between the fields were small rivers and woods, and Shannon actually saw some deer. In the distance was a house that looked like a medieval castle. It was surrounded by several small stone houses and corrals. It looked like a small village, but it couldn’t be, could it?

Simon closed the phone he had been talking on for at least an hour. “Welcome to Greyman Hill,” he said and knocked on the driver’s hatch.

The car stopped and Shannon and Simon got out. It was indeed a small village, but the house was no castle. It was a huge manor house made of stone and it looked like it had been standing there forever; but no, it was definitely no castle. Shannon stared at it. There was something strange about it. When she had looked at it from afar it had looked like a dream castle, but now, as she stood next to it, she could feel a threatening coldness radiating from it. The old light grey stones and the plants enveloping them shouldn’t be anything threatening, and yet she felt a terrible need to back away.

“It’s great, isn’t it?” Simon asked and started to walk to the front door.

Shannon couldn’t move. Every cell in her told her to run, but she couldn’t. She was paralyzed.

Simon looked at her in surprise. “What are you waiting for? Come on! Don’t you want to see the rest of the house?”

She nodded but still couldn’t force her legs to move. It’s just a house, she thought. What could be so horrible that she couldn’t go inside? She moved her legs slowly and swallowed. The moment she stepped into the doorway, clouds covered the sun and all the birds fell silent. She gasped. No way was she going in there!

**************************************************************************************************

You can find a lot of other interesting places from my books, too, especially in my Shape Shifter Series, but as the first two books in the series are going to be re-proofed and re-edited within couple of months I’ll leave that info to another blog post…

Cheers!

About jenniferloiske

Jennifer Loiske lives in Finland in Naantali, which is a small sunny town on the southwest coast. She is a pre-school teacher by profession but she stayed at home when her youngest daughter suffered brain fever, which developed severe epilepsy in 2004. She is a workaholic Teen/Young Adult author, who loves dark fantasy, teen movies, chips and candies and warm sunny days. She’s also very keen on charity work and a big part of her royalties goes to the charity; mainly to help families with epileptic children but also to the epilepsy units in the hospitals. As a huge fan of dark novels Jennifer's bookshelf is full of books from L.J. Smith, Alyson Noel, Stephanie Meyer, Chloe Neill, Michelle Rowen, Jennifer L. Armentrout, Amanda Hocking and Lauren Kate. She’s also a huge fan of music from Evanescence, Linkin Park, Within Temptation, OneRepublic and Disturbed. But her hunger for music is endless and depend on what mood she’s in or what kind of book she’s working on. She can be pretty much an omnivore when it comes to music.
This entry was posted in Books, My writing journey and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

