Seven minutes with Jennifer: Interview of Daniel Sherrier

S_m_w_JDaniel Sherrier, welcome to my virtual couch!

Tell us something about yourself? 

I write books and plays in the science fiction, fantasy, and comedy genres. I graduated from the College of William & Mary with a major in English and Theatre. Also, I eat a lot of cookies.

What is or are the genres of your book or books?

Earths in Space is science fiction. More specifically, it’s space travel without aliens, at least not the three-eyed little green Martian type. However, this universe does have plenty of alien humans.

RIP is a paranormal fantasy about a guy who physically beats up ghosts. Well, there’s a lot more going on, but that’s the genre.

When and why did you begin writing?

I started writing and drawing comic books when I was nine years old. I enjoyed super-heroes so much, I simply had to make my own. Eventually, the drawing came to an end. The writing never did, though my range of interests has certainly broadened.

When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I’ve just always been doing it. It’s not like William Shakespeare crashed through my window one evening and I thought, “That’s it! It’s an omen! I shall become…a writer!” (Bonus points if you get the reference. Imaginary bonus points, of course.)

Where do you get ideas for your stories?

Some parallel dimension, perhaps? Somehow events, stimuli, and memories align and lead my brain to think of something interesting.

What was the hardest part of writing your books?

Getting started on the first draft. Everything’s sloppy in the early stages, and I keep reminding myself that it’s temporary sloppiness.

DanielSherrier headshotHave you ever had a writer’s block and if yes, how did you make it go away?

It happens on occasion, usually with minor but necessary transition scenes. I’ll know all the big points, but then I come across this “get from point A to point B” moment that I hadn’t really thought about, and it takes longer than it should to sort out. Exercise destroys writer’s block wonderfully, I’ve found.

I agree! The best way to write is just write! Indie or traditional publishing?

I’m doing indie because that seems to be the most viable option to get started. I won’t presume to know which route is better.

What is the force behind your writing?

A bizarre neurotic compulsion, I guess.

Haha! They say writers are all a bit weird but hey, what do I know 🙂 Do you have any weird writing habits?

I do that thing everyone says you shouldn’t do—I edit during the first draft. These aren’t the painstaking edits that will come later, but I clean up enough to prove to myself that this thing will get better. It also helps keep the events fresh in my mind, so I’ll have fewer problems to deal with later.

What is your favorite cartoon character?

The 90s animated Batman. That was one of the best versions of one of the best characters.

Your favorite book? Movie? TV series?

To Kill a Mockingbird, Mary Poppins, and Buffy the Vampire Slayer. They go together so well, don’t they? Can’t you just see Buffy and Atticus teaming up to get Uncle Albert off the ceiling?

Yes they do! Besides, we don’t know what happened behind the scenes…maybe Mary Poppins is somehow related to Buffy…Hmm…What do you do in your spare time?

Spare what now?

Any current projects you’d like to share?

More Earths in Space and more RIP! Both series will keep me busy for the foreseeable future. I also plan on releasing a book of plays called, Why Shouldn’t the Chicken Cross the Road? and Other One-Act Plays. Theatre lovers, keep your eyes out for that in the near future.

Tell us something unique about yourself you’d like the readers to know…

I’m an asthmatic martial artist. I’ve been training in Thai kickboxing for longer than four years, and early on I realized I’m not good at breathing. In lieu of oxygen, I persisted on stubbornness. But I figured, hey, the world has always had a great shortage of asthmatic martial artists, and someone needed to fill this void.

You would certainly make a great character in a book…I may ‘loan’ you sometimes in the future…actually, there’s already a story forming inside my head…If you could meet one ‘celebrity’ author who would it be?

If time travel is an option, then I’d like to meet Mark Twain. If time travel is not an option, then it should be.

Do you have any words of wisdom for the other writers?

Just entertain. Don’t try to impress anyone. Please don’t write about writers. If you’re going the indie route, don’t rush your product. Be patient. You’ll never get it perfect, but get it right. Putting out your book prematurely won’t do anyone any good. Lastly, realize that everyone has detractors. Google your favorite author with words like “overrated” or “hack,” and you’ll find someone who’s determined to convince the world that that beloved author “really isn’t all that great.” Don’t let such people cost you sleep.

Favorite quote?

“There is no try. There is only do or do not.” Who am I to argue with Yoda?

Oh, I love that one! Okay, where can people find out more about you and your books:

Sherrierbooks.com has all the links. My Facebook page is http://www.facebook.com/drsherrier, and my Twitter is @DanielSherrier. My Amazon link is http://www.amazon.com/Daniel-Sherrier/e/B00BQ3KC1M/ref=ntt_athr_dp_pel_pop_1 And don’t forget to search me and my books on Goodreads!

EIS1Do you want to tell us something about your book? Short synopsis? Excerpt? 

The basic synopses are on my website under the “Books” tab, so I’ll use this space to point out something else. The science fiction genre has a reputation for being dominated with male characters. Well, Earths in Space’s regular cast has an even gender ratio, and this team of explorers is led by a woman named Amena. She’s a whimsical realist who just wants to find something amazing…and then something else amazing…and something else…and pretty much everything amazing. For some reason—probably because I grew up with two sisters and no brothers—I get annoyed when female characters have no lives outside the male characters. So, in my books, men and women support each other. Sometimes a woman saves a man, and sometimes a man saves a woman, and nobody’s perfect, but they all have their own motivations and goals.

Thank you for being with us today, Daniel! I wish all the best for your writing career.

About jenniferloiske

Jennifer Loiske lives in Finland in Naantali, which is a small sunny town on the southwest coast. She is a pre-school teacher by profession but she stayed at home when her youngest daughter suffered brain fever, which developed severe epilepsy in 2004. She is a workaholic Teen/Young Adult author, who loves dark fantasy, teen movies, chips and candies and warm sunny days. She’s also very keen on charity work and a big part of her royalties goes to the charity; mainly to help families with epileptic children but also to the epilepsy units in the hospitals. As a huge fan of dark novels Jennifer's bookshelf is full of books from L.J. Smith, Alyson Noel, Stephanie Meyer, Chloe Neill, Michelle Rowen, Jennifer L. Armentrout, Amanda Hocking and Lauren Kate. She’s also a huge fan of music from Evanescence, Linkin Park, Within Temptation, OneRepublic and Disturbed. But her hunger for music is endless and depend on what mood she’s in or what kind of book she’s working on. She can be pretty much an omnivore when it comes to music.
This entry was posted in Seven minutes with Jennifer; Interviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

