Seven minutes with Jennifer: Interview of Elizabeth Glanville

It is my pleasure to welcome Elizabeth Glanville to my virtual couch. She’s not only a very talented writer but a really good friend of mine and a fellow writer in Authors For Charity. If you like chick-lit, don’t forget to download a copy of her book as it is FREE at the moment!

me!-1Elizabeth, please, tell us a something about yourself? 

I am a writer/journalist/editor, originally from Cardiff and now living and working in London. I love writing and reading fiction, and enjoy spending time out and about in London with my friends. Especially when that involves coffee and cake, or cider!

What is or are the genres of your book or books?

One review on Amazon refers to The Imaginist as ‘chick-lit that turns sinister’. I liked that!

When and why did you begin writing?

I started writing my first novel, Oceans Apart, in July 2008. I’d had some ideas brewing for a while, but I had been putting off actually doing any writing. Then I had a few spare weeks and thought ‘come on, just do it.’ So I did!

When did you first consider yourself a writer?

This is quite funny – the first time I really considered myself a writer was when I was walking down the street and a couple of pages of a newspaper I write for were lying on the ground, screwed up and walked over but open at an article I had written, and I could see my name. I don’t quite know why that spoke to me more than anything else, but I think it had something about the idea that other people really were reading my work – or at least walking over it – rather than just me and my mum!

Where do you get ideas for your stories?

From my overactive imagination! I have a very enquiring mind, I like to question things and I like to wonder about alternatives and possibilities.

What was the hardest part of writing your books?

Proof-reading is hard – I’ve read The Imaginist so many times I could probably recite it, but I still always miss something! I also sometimes find it hard to write scenes which have pretty much been written in my head – my head then wants to move on but it has to wait for my fingers to catch up!

Oh, I know that feeling! If only we could link our mind straight to the computer…Have you ever had a writer’s block and if yes, how did you make it go away?

I’m not sure I have. There have been times when I’ve had to take a conscious break because I just feel like I can’t do any more at that point, but luckily I don’t think I’ve had real writer’s block.

Indie or traditional publishing?

I can see the benefits and disadvantages to both.

What is the force behind your writing?

It just feels like something I have to do. It’s a part of who I am, and to not write would be to deny a huge part of myself.

Do you have any weird writing habits?

I don’t know if it’s particularly weird, but I do find it easier to write with the TV on. But it has to be something light, and preferably something I know well. Friends and Sex and the City help! It’s just background noise really, but for some reason it seems to help me focus.

What is your favorite cartoon character?

I’m not a big one for cartoons, but when I was little I did become rather obsessed with Disney’s Robin Hood…

Your favorite author? Book?

It’s so hard to pin down a favourite! I love Jude the Obscure, by Thomas Hardy. And I’ve just read One Hundred Years of Solitude by Gabriel García Márquez, which was really special. But I also love lighter reads – anything by Marian Keyes, Sophie Kinsella and Lisa Jewell. I like to be able to really get lost in a book. It has to make me feel a bit sad to say goodbye at the end, as One Hundred Years of Solitude just did. I dragged the last few pages out over about three days because I couldn’t bear to finish it!

What do you do in your spare time?

I write! And read. I think a lot of writers do the same. I work, I’m also at university retraining in my ‘day’ job and I do other written work for papers etc.. Then there’s also all the marketing work, social media, updating my website, editing, editing, editing… so to get my novels written I have to do it in my spare time. But I have also learnt to make more time to see my friends and to get a break from writing without beating myself up about it. It is important to get some distance from time-to-time.

Any current projects you’d like to share?

I’ve just started something but it’s so new it doesn’t even have a title yet! I’m not saying too much yet – partly because I’m not quite sure what’s going to happen myself – but I had a fun time last weekend thrashing some idea around with a friend, Staci. She came up with some great stuff, I think she’d write it better than I will!

What has been the toughest criticism given to you as an author?

I find it hard when people don’t like my characters. Like if they say someone is annoying or they can’t sympathise with them. I guess I take it personally, because I made them and they are like my babies!

What has been the best compliment?

I find the best compliment really is when people read my book, and read it quickly. Then I really trust that they did enjoy it!

If you could meet one ‘celebrity’ author who would it be?

I would love to meet that YA author, Jennifer Loiske 😉 Oh! I already did that! I’d also really like to meet Marian Keyes as her work really speaks to me. I met Lisa Jewell (Sunday Times Bestselling author of Ralph’s Party, The Making of Us and Before I Met You, amongst others) at a writing event recently which was exciting, as I’ve read all her work. She was absolutely lovely, and I gave her a copy of The Imaginist!

Haha! We did have fun in London Book Fair, didn’t we?! Do you have any words of wisdom for the other writers?

Get it down on paper! Until it’s on paper you can’t do anything with it. Remember, no-one has to read it, and you don’t even have to read it yourself if you don’t want to. Just write, then at least you have something to work with.

Favorite quote?

‘Isn’t it funny how day by day nothing changes, but when you look back everything is different?’ C.S. Lewis. And I also like ‘Success is the ability to go from one failure to another with no loss of enthusiasm’ – Winston Churchill.

Where can people find out more about you and your books?

Links to and information about all my writing work is on my website at http://www.elizabethglanville.com. You can ‘like’ my Facebook page at Elizabeth Glanville, writer, or follow my on Twitter @bethglanville. All my books are available to buy and download worldwide through Amazon.

Unknown-1About the book: Do you want to tell us something about your book? Short synopsis? Excerpt? 

The blurb from The Imaginist is as follows…

Louise has long coveted the young professional lifestyle, but when she moves from South Wales to London she finds real life harsher than she ever imagined. Louise seeks solace in her daydreams, but as the line between reality and fantasy starts to blur the pull towards idealism becoming just too strong to ignore. Meanwhile Ryan has high hopes from life, but when things don’t turn out as expected it becomes a struggle to keep face. He sinks deeper into despair and isolation, resorting to drastic measures just to cope, before fleeing across the Channel to start a new life in France. Secrets, lies, distortion and disillusionment combine to create a dangerous concoction. But can Louise survive London, and Ryan survive Paris, to return from the brink of destruction and to the family and friends who so desperately want them back?

 

Thank you Elizabeth. You’ve been a wonderful guest and I can’t wait to hear about your new, secret project!

About jenniferloiske

Jennifer Loiske lives in Finland in Naantali, which is a small sunny town on the southwest coast. She is a pre-school teacher by profession but she stayed at home when her youngest daughter suffered brain fever, which developed severe epilepsy in 2004. She is a workaholic Teen/Young Adult author, who loves dark fantasy, teen movies, chips and candies and warm sunny days. She’s also very keen on charity work and a big part of her royalties goes to the charity; mainly to help families with epileptic children but also to the epilepsy units in the hospitals. As a huge fan of dark novels Jennifer's bookshelf is full of books from L.J. Smith, Alyson Noel, Stephanie Meyer, Chloe Neill, Michelle Rowen, Jennifer L. Armentrout, Amanda Hocking and Lauren Kate. She’s also a huge fan of music from Evanescence, Linkin Park, Within Temptation, OneRepublic and Disturbed. But her hunger for music is endless and depend on what mood she’s in or what kind of book she’s working on. She can be pretty much an omnivore when it comes to music.
This entry was posted in Seven minutes with Jennifer; Interviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

