Music makes the writing flow…or not.

kuva-9Are you one of those writers that needs some inspiring music to get your writing flow? Or maybe you’re one of those who needs complete silence before the words can be put on the paper. Or maybe you’re like me, a combination of both. I need certain kind of music to turn my brain on and in order to create a story, but when it comes to that moment that I actually will sit down and write, I turn the music on, lock the door and shut myself out of the world.

I’m writing three series at the same time so it’s kind of important to tune myself into the right mood for each series. And that’s when my playlists come handy. At the moment I’m writing the final part for my Immortal Blood Series and it’s really hard to focus on vampires whilst my kids are running wildly around the house and interrupting my thoughts. So whenever I can steal some time for myself I put my earphones on and let the inspiring music fill my mind.

But why create a playlist? Isn’t it easier just to turn the radio on or listen to whatever music you already have? Well, that can work for some people but then there are those who doesn’t get inspired by their favorite music or needs the variety of songs to really turn their creativity on. For example, I love Olly Murs, Linkin Park, Evanescence, Adam Lambert, Birdy, Bruno Mars etc. but I only qualify couple of their songs on my ‘book playlist’. When creating my playlists I’m on the hunt for the perfect atmosphere, that last push that will help me to dive into my own text and make it as good as I can.

A fellow writer once complained how tiring it is to create a playlist. Sure, it can be that, but it’s also quite rewarding. Besides, you only need to do it once and then you can listen to it just as many times as you like. Then again, this is only my opinion and my way of working. Some other writer might survive just as well without the list 🙂

Here’s what’s on my Immortal Blood Series playlist:

Train by 3 Doors Down

Kryptonite by 3 Doors Down

Tresspassing by Adam Lambert

My Heart Is Broken by Evanescence

The Pretender by Foo Fighters

Still Alive by Negative

Kiss Me by Ed Sheeran

On My Cloud by Olly Murs

I Love It by Icona Pop

Funeral Song by The Rasmus

Stay by Rihanna

I Need You Now by Olly Murs

Skinny Love by Birdy

Another Way To Die by Disturbed

Don’t Stay by Linkin Park

Fear The Fever by Digital Daggers

Molly The Murderer by Sturm und Drang

The District Sleeps Alone Tonight by Birdy

 

The songs on the list are not in any particular order.

If you have a playlist, I’d be happy to hear what inspires you, so please, share!

Cheers,

Jen

About jenniferloiske

Jennifer Loiske lives in Finland in Naantali, which is a small sunny town on the southwest coast. She is a pre-school teacher by profession but she stayed at home when her youngest daughter suffered brain fever, which developed severe epilepsy in 2004. She is a workaholic Teen/Young Adult author, who loves dark fantasy, teen movies, chips and candies and warm sunny days. She’s also very keen on charity work and a big part of her royalties goes to the charity; mainly to help families with epileptic children but also to the epilepsy units in the hospitals. As a huge fan of dark novels Jennifer's bookshelf is full of books from L.J. Smith, Alyson Noel, Stephanie Meyer, Chloe Neill, Michelle Rowen, Jennifer L. Armentrout, Amanda Hocking and Lauren Kate. She’s also a huge fan of music from Evanescence, Linkin Park, Within Temptation, OneRepublic and Disturbed. But her hunger for music is endless and depend on what mood she’s in or what kind of book she’s working on. She can be pretty much an omnivore when it comes to music.
This entry was posted in My writing journey and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

