Seven minutes with Jennifer: Interview of Linda Bolton!

S_m_w_JI’m happy to welcome a talented writer and a dear friend, Linda Bolton, to my virtual couch.

Linda, please, tell us a something about yourself?

I’ve been writing since high school – poetry, a start at a memoir, and finally a romance book. I work full time, spend time with my daughter & granddaughter and write a blog.  I stay really busy with book signings and hanging with friends. Sitting still is the last thing I want to do.

Oh, I know that feeling! I, too, need to have a lot of going on at the same time to keep me happy!  What is or are the genres of your book or books?

My first book is contemporary romance and I’m working on a second. There’s a list I’m working on…Hopefully a bit faster than these have gone. I tend to dawdle.

When and why did you begin writing?

I loved creative writing and poetry in high school. I began working on the school literary magazine and started writing. It was a great outlet.

1376675_10202159680699450_17171972_nWhen did you first consider yourself a writer?

Once I began writing TAKE 2. I met a bunch of writers and I realized we had a lot in common…we wrote so therefore we were writers.

So true! Where do you get ideas for your stories?

From everyday life. TAKE 2 is the story of a Dallas woman who meets her celebrity crush. My second, Incantation, is the story of a famous magician who meets a reporter from D Magazine. The reporter is modeled from a girlfriend I know who used to be a reporter. She’s been a wonderful collaborator.

What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Making quality time to write. I have so much pulling me in different directions. I love the early morning hours but it’s hard to get up sometimes.

Haha! I wish I had that problem. I’d love to stay in my warm bed but my mind is always hyper busy so I only manage to sleep couple of hours/night. Have you ever had a writer’s block and if yes, how did you make it go away?

Not really. I mostly have the fear of the second one not being better than the first. My goal is that each book is better than the last. It can be an intimidating goal.

It sure can! But I have no doubts you can do it! Indie or traditional publishing?

Combo – I’m part of a small publisher that gives me the best of both worlds – someone who can take care of my publishing needs but I still get hands on marketing. I hear the stories of having no input with titles and covers yet my publisher totally lets me take part. I love having support so I don’t have to do this alone. It’s tough out there, I know I have someone to lean on and help me out.

Yes, I believe in team power too! Together we are so much stronger and better… Okay, what is the force behind your writing?

Are you meaning motivation? My friends that are all dying to be come a character or add input. I have been lucky enough that they are all super supportive!

Aww…you have such a great friends! My friends would be terrified if I ever dared to hint they might end up in my stories 🙂 Of course some of them are in there but I’ll never tell which ones…Do you have any weird writing habits?

No…

What is your favorite cartoon character?

BatMan! He’s the only super hero with no super powers…I like Dexter from Dexter’s laboratory too!

Your favorite author? Book?Movie? TV-series?

I love to read Christopher Moore books, Harry Potter movies and NCIS.

Thanks for the tip Linda. I might get into Christopher Moore’s books the next time I have time to read something…What do you do in your spare time?

I love to cook, watch movies, check out new restaurants and play with my granddaughter – she’s 1 yr old. I scrapbook and hang out with friends too.

Any current projects you’d like to share?

Book 2 is called Incantation and will, hopefully be finished soon. There is a list behind it on the drawing board.

Can’t wait to read that! Writer’s life is not always pink bubbles and champagne…What has been the toughest criticism given to you as an author?

Showing instead of telling. Its something I struggle with.

Oh, I hear you! I have the same problem…What has been the best compliment?

That men are enjoying the book as much as women are.

That’s awesome! If you could meet one ‘celebrity’ author who would it be?

Jane Austen

Do you have any words of wisdom for the other writers?

Keep writing and don’t give up.

Favorite quote?

“It is what it is”

Where can people find out more about you and your book:

http://www.facebook.com/lindaboltonauthor

http://www.amazon.com/Linda-Bolton/e/B00ATVZRLC/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_1?qid=1381201767&sr=8-1

Take 2 bookcover LindaDo you want to tell us something about your book? 

Alexandra Daniels is forty-something and hard-working in and out of her home . Her life has been plodding along at a snails pace and she’s longing for excitement. She wins a trip to her favorite talk show in New York, the Veronica Becker Show, and it just so happens the actor of her dreams is a guest, Derek Dunbar! Is Alex’s life about to change?

Derek Dunbar is Scottish, an actor and a hunk! Every woman in America drools after him. He has his pick of women but stinks at relationships. At forty, is he longing for a more meaningful relationship? Does he even know how to have one? Is he willing to make the effort or will it just be too complicated?

Thank you Linda. It’s been a pleasure as always. I hope you’ll be visiting my blog again soon!

Cheers!

Jen

About jenniferloiske

Jennifer Loiske lives in Finland in Naantali, which is a small sunny town on the southwest coast. She is a pre-school teacher by profession but she stayed at home when her youngest daughter suffered brain fever, which developed severe epilepsy in 2004. She is a workaholic Teen/Young Adult author, who loves dark fantasy, teen movies, chips and candies and warm sunny days. She’s also very keen on charity work and a big part of her royalties goes to the charity; mainly to help families with epileptic children but also to the epilepsy units in the hospitals. As a huge fan of dark novels Jennifer's bookshelf is full of books from L.J. Smith, Alyson Noel, Stephanie Meyer, Chloe Neill, Michelle Rowen, Jennifer L. Armentrout, Amanda Hocking and Lauren Kate. She’s also a huge fan of music from Evanescence, Linkin Park, Within Temptation, OneRepublic and Disturbed. But her hunger for music is endless and depend on what mood she’s in or what kind of book she’s working on. She can be pretty much an omnivore when it comes to music.
This entry was posted in Seven minutes with Jennifer; Interviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

