On the spotlight: Y. Correa author of MarcoAntonio & Amaryllis!

I was privileged to read an ARC copy of author Y. Correa’s new release MarcoAntonio & Amaryllis (which by the way was a must read!) and after that I wanted to invite her here and share her work with you as it was so awesome. So, here we are, on a beautiful Monday morning 🙂 The stage is yours Y. Correa!

1960164_589241317833610_1493282247_nHello Jennifer, followers. * smiles cordially *

Hmmm. What to tell, what to tell? Let me see…

Well, it all started a little something like this…

About 2 years ago, I’d recently finished my 2nd full length novel (a YA Paranormal Adventure—these books aren’t currently available), and upon having felt the exhilaration of having completed it, I called one of my closest friends and poet to tell him all about it.

You see, he’d read my first book and enjoyed it, so I knew that he’d want to read the second installment.

Well, during the conversation, at some point he said to me. “You should write a Medieval story!”

Like lightening the idea came to my mind. I mean, all it took was for him to say the words and suddenly the opening scene of the first chapter just popped up in my head.

So, my reply to his comment was. “Harry, I have to let you go. I have some writing to do.”

Just like that MarcoAntonio & Amaryllis was born. Within 30 minuted—including never ending interruptions—I’d completed the first chapter.

(Side note #1: Being a single mother of four, is NEVER an easy task.)

It took me a little over a year to finish the manuscript, and about another year to get it through the submission and publishing process.

(Side note #2: In all truth, although this book is based on medieval times, it does not have much in the way of actual history. I utilized the time more as a character, than a setting. Those who read the story will understand where I’m coming from.)

The characters themselves were born… well, how can I better explain this? * thinking *

In all actuality, they were just there.

The entire story played out much like a movie reel in my head.

The characters came in on cue (names, mannerisms and all). As the matter of fact, they narrated the story to me. It was just my job to tell the world what they were showing me. And so I did. It was funny because as the, let’s call it “movie” played out in my minds eye, I could see every detail, smell every scent, taste every morsel, feel every emotion—every single note of every piece of information was vividly distinct to me, as if I’d been thrust right into the center of it all.

I felt like it was my duty, my calling to clearly explain it all to the reader, so that they too could experience what I was feeling.

I think that this could have been because each character and every scene was a piece of me. Both spiritually and physically.

The sequel was something the seemed natural to me. It could have been for two simple reasons.

1)    When the story was over, I found myself feeling sad and empty. I missed them, it, the entire process. I cried. Really, truly I did.

2)    Something inside of me, told me that the adventure was not over. There was more to be told. Because, in all truth, the ending, was merely another beginning.

My only hope is that, even if the reader hates the story, that they be taken to another time and another place and that in the process that learn that human emotions transcend time, space, color, creed and origin.

On the inside, we are all the same.

Thank you Y. Correa!

If you want to know more about Y. Correa and her book, you can find the info here: 

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Y.-Correa/e/B00B32WXFE/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1392915479&sr=1-2-ent

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/marco.amaryllis

1922955_589241424500266_1875542912_nMy review of MarcoAntonio & Amaryllis:

5 *****

The story begins in Spain in 1585. The people are fighting over land while a young noble man MarcoAntonio sets his eyes on an English lady Amaryllis. It’s a love at first sight, something prohibited and something worth fighting for. But young love is often impatient and foolish, driving the young lovers doing something they will regret later.

Amaryllis’s father ends up contacting The Sisterhood, an evil coven of witches, sealing not only her destiny but a destiny of so many others by starting a cycle of events that will awaken an ancient creature who once summoned back to earth will not yield without a fight, if even then.

This is not only a story of MarcoAntonio and Amaryllis but also a story of young gypsy called Rye and MarcoAntonio’s brother Damian. The story is full of unexpected twists and turns, suspense and a wicked siren kind of witchcraft. It is refreshingly different and brave. A story well worth of reading and something I will warmly recommend for all paranormal romance readers who likes medieval stories!

About jenniferloiske

Jennifer Loiske lives in Finland in Naantali, which is a small sunny town on the southwest coast. She is a pre-school teacher by profession but she stayed at home when her youngest daughter suffered brain fever, which developed severe epilepsy in 2004. She is a workaholic Teen/Young Adult author, who loves dark fantasy, teen movies, chips and candies and warm sunny days. She’s also very keen on charity work and a big part of her royalties goes to the charity; mainly to help families with epileptic children but also to the epilepsy units in the hospitals. As a huge fan of dark novels Jennifer's bookshelf is full of books from L.J. Smith, Alyson Noel, Stephanie Meyer, Chloe Neill, Michelle Rowen, Jennifer L. Armentrout, Amanda Hocking and Lauren Kate. She’s also a huge fan of music from Evanescence, Linkin Park, Within Temptation, OneRepublic and Disturbed. But her hunger for music is endless and depend on what mood she’s in or what kind of book she’s working on. She can be pretty much an omnivore when it comes to music.
This entry was posted in Author's Corner, Reviews and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

