Seven minutes with Jennifer: Interview of R.G. Porter

S_m_w_JI’m happy to welcome R.G. Porter on my couch today. R.G., please, tell us a something about yourself?

I’m a mom, wife, author and graphic designer. Love all things horror and dark fantasy but my cats are my refuge from the chaos.

What is or are the genres of your book or books?

I have multiple books out and they run between paranormal mystery to dark fantasy to supernatural horror.

When and why did you begin writing?

I’ve always daydreamed up stories. I didn’t take writing as a serious idea until 2007 when I started putting together Shadow of the Wolf.

Oh, I love the sound of that name! I will definitely put it on my TBR list! Since you have multiple titles out when did you first consider yourself a writer?

I call myself more of a story-teller. I love to weave tales of darkness and magic. But I’ve always loved to tell the tales.

Where do you get ideas for your stories?

From everything around me, though my dreams tend to be a HUGE catalyst for ideas.

What was the hardest part of writing your books?

Editing 🙂  I love telling the stories, but the technicalities of grammar and pace can be more difficult. I’m sure my editor has pulled some of her hair out a few times.

Editing…deep sigh…I can so relate to you! Have you ever had a writer’s block and if yes, how did you make it go away?

Not often, but when I feel stumped I’ll either watch a movie or run the last few scenes in my head like a movie. That seems to get the juices flowing again.

Indie or traditional publishing?

I’ve been with a small press in the past, but I prefer the control I have over my writing as an indie.

Do you have any weird writing habits?

I need to have NO distractions. Hubby swears I’m ADD so I get sidetracked easily. That and I need to have specific music on depending on what I’m doing.

Your favorite author? Book? Movie? TV-series?

Wow, that’ shard. I have quite a few authors I adore. Trudi Canavan and Karen Marie Moning are brilliant, but I also adored Leonard Goldber’s Joanna Blalock’s series. Movies? Probably Resident Evil series and Wreck It Ralph. TV-Series is a bit more difficult as I don’t tend to watch much Tv. When I do, its normally cooking shows or Ghost Hunters. 🙂

What do you do in your spare time?

Play with my cats, graphic design and MMORPGs.

Okay, I have to confess I had to Google that! Any current projects you’d like to share?

Right now I’m between books. I’m hoping to get the next out in my Guardian’s of Nature series or another Sam Stone novella. Beyond that I’m currently focusing on my book cover design site.

What has been the toughest criticism given to you as an author?

I think the hardest thing is when what I ‘see’ isn’t what someone else sees. Most of the feedback I get back I really appreciate, but I can’t always implement either.

What has been the best compliment?

I had one fan tell me she had read one of my books often and even read it to an ill relative who was in the hospital. That really made my day.

Aww…that is wonderful! Do you have any words of wisdom for the other writers?

Don’t stop. There will be tons of tough times, but keep working at it. And always know that not everyone will like what you write. You can’t please everyone, but so long as you do your best and believe in yourself, the skies the limit.

Favorite quote?

When life is at its darkest there is within the power to change.

Where can people find out more about you and your books?

My website has quite a bit: www.aossipublishing.com/rgporter/ as well as my amazon page: http://www.amazon.com/RG-Porter/e/B004F9IK54/

JudgementDo you want to tell us something about your book? 

My most recent novel out is JUDGEMENT.

http://www.amazon.com/Judgement-RG-Porter-ebook/dp/B00FVL8O74

Blurb:

Seeing your mother engulfed by darkness changes a person.

The memory has haunted Kristin all her life. It drove her to join Spirit Investigators International, and to explore paranormal activity and locations. It brought her to the dark ruins of Debois Penitentiary for the Criminally Insane.

Kristin’s team is assigned to investigate, but they find themselves confronting the pure malevolence that infuses the concrete walls. The darkness has returned, and this time it means to be Kristin’s judge, jury and executioner.

Excerpt:

Kristin felt her body toss and turn, even though she knew she was still asleep. Her mind was full of dreams and memories that refused to leave. She’d lived through this particular one before. It never changed, but it always haunted her.

Walking down the hallway, she could still smell sandalwood in the air. Her mother loved that fragrance and made sure to have it burning almost every night. Tonight was no different, except that the scent was heavier than normal. Kristin kept moving in the dark as her mind shouted at her to turn around and go back. Still, she couldn’t, even though she wanted to; her body kept going forward, her feet taking one slow step at a time. Lights flickered ahead, but the sight no longer scared her. She had seen it too many times now. The walls had decayed over the years; the mildew of death permeating this imaginary world. Every time she entered here, a piece of her past was scraped away, replaced by putrefaction. Soon everything she remembered of her personal history would be gone. She would be left with only pain.

Another step, then another, and she found herself almost at the end of the hallway. Ahead was a door, slightly ajar, out of which came muffled scratching noises. Kristin couldn’t make out what they were, even though, in the back of her mind, she knew. Her heartbeat sped up. Adrenaline pulsed through her as she moved closer. Reaching out, she pushed the door wide open; the brightness of the bathroom light blinding her for a moment. As her vision cleared, her body began to shake.

“Mother!”

She knew this scene, yet it hit her hard every time.

“Mother!”

On the floor her body lay still. Dark crimson began to flow from beneath, the color in stark contrast to the pristine white of the bathroom tiles. A flicker of light caught Kristin’s eye, drawing it to the large butcher’s knife alongside on the floor. Moving her mother, her limp body fell against her lap, her head lopping backwards. Underneath her, she discovered a large pool of blood in the same spot as where her back had been. Kristin closed her eyes as she felt along her back. About midway down she felt a large wound that spanned the length of her spinal cord. Laying the body down, Kristin watched her mother try to speak; blood dripping from her lips as her lungs filled with blood. She leaned close, desperate to hear her mother’s words.

“Mother, no!” Kristin grabbed for a towel to stop the flow of blood. The scent of blood was heavy in the room. “Hold on. I’ll get help.”

Her mother reached out to her. “It’s too late. They’re here.”

Kristin pulled her close. She refused to lose her again. “Who’s here? I don’t see anyone.”

Chilled air brushed across her body. In front of the blood that had pooled on the floor a black mass began to emerge. At first it was barely discernable, but as the moments passed it morphed into a dark shadow, its form not human, yet still visible.

“Go away!” Kristin screamed.

Hushed voices filled the room. “She is gone. It is time to let go.” They repeated this over and over until Kristin swore she would lose her mind. “Let her go,” a final voice uttered.

Kristin held tightly to her mother, even though she knew she was no longer there. Her body had turned ice cold as the warmth of her spirit exited its human shell and moved toward the black mist that waited. Kristin tried to move, but her own form was frozen. She had known this would happen; it always did. Still, it shattered her soul every time she had to live through this. No sooner had the beacon of death shown itself then her mother vanished again. It was hell to watch.

Kristin looked down at her hands, the bright red splotches of blood still wet to the touch. Closing her eyes she willed the past to wrest itself from her memories. “Leave me alone. Let me get on with my life!” she cried out. “I’m tired… so tired.”

“Rest for now, Kristin. You have much to do.” That voice! She had heard it before, but only when she felt at her limit. Tonight was one of those times. “Close your eyes,” it said. “Your time here is done.”

So she did. Closing her eyes, Kristin let the darkness wash over her soul. The voice had never failed her and she was not about to question it now. Out of all of her dreams it was the one thing she looked forward to. Demon or angel, she didn’t care. It had kept her from losing her sanity. One day she would find out who it belonged to.

Oh, wow! Now I definitely must read this book, too!

Thank you so much for visiting my blog. I hope to see you here sometimes soon again!

About jenniferloiske

Jennifer Loiske lives in Finland in Naantali, which is a small sunny town on the southwest coast. She is a pre-school teacher by profession but she stayed at home when her youngest daughter suffered brain fever, which developed severe epilepsy in 2004. She is a workaholic Teen/Young Adult author, who loves dark fantasy, teen movies, chips and candies and warm sunny days. She’s also very keen on charity work and a big part of her royalties goes to the charity; mainly to help families with epileptic children but also to the epilepsy units in the hospitals. As a huge fan of dark novels Jennifer's bookshelf is full of books from L.J. Smith, Alyson Noel, Stephanie Meyer, Chloe Neill, Michelle Rowen, Jennifer L. Armentrout, Amanda Hocking and Lauren Kate. She’s also a huge fan of music from Evanescence, Linkin Park, Within Temptation, OneRepublic and Disturbed. But her hunger for music is endless and depend on what mood she’s in or what kind of book she’s working on. She can be pretty much an omnivore when it comes to music.
This entry was posted in Seven minutes with Jennifer; Interviews and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

