Seven minutes with Jennifer: Interview of D. John Watson

 

S_m_w_JI’m so happy to introduce you author D. John Watson. John, please tell us a something about yourself?

Well, most important, I’m a husband, father and grandfather and I’d rather be at the beach than anywhere else. I grew up in CT. and RI and some I’m a self confirmed beach rat. But I’ve always liked a good story so I use whatever works to tell one. But my first love is art and some day I’d like to go back and finish art school. But for right now, I’m going to enjoy the ride that writing is offering me and maybe some day I’ll get to combine the two.

When and why did you begin writing?

The writing came out of my art and my reading, I grew up with asthma and so I spend a lot time either behind a book or a sketch pad. In high school I took a creative writing class ( which I failed) but I loved writing so I just kept up with it. That has led to other pursuits such as martial arts where I became an assistant instructor. And that knowledge has found its way into my writing, kind of a full circle.

When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I guess it was when I finally published my first book. Until then it was more of a hobby but there’s something about opening that box and picking it up, seeing your name on the cover that says, “I did it.”

That is so true! It feels soooo good! Have you ever had a writer’s block and if yes, how did you make it go away?

I usually have two or three WIPs going at the same time so I’ll often move to a different one. I find that the more I try to focus on the problem, the harder it is to solve. You know the answer is there but you’re so focused on it, you can’t see it, the forest for the trees. If all else fails, I take a nap.. Sounds strange but you‘d be surprised how many time I’ve solved a problem in that moment right before I‘ve go to sleep.

Sounds familiar! And it really helps to have couple of WIPs…never a dull moment 🙂 Indie or traditional publishing? And why?

I started as an indie. It seemed like an easier route, not having to deal with agents and submission queries to publishers. And I have to admit, a larger percentage of the royalties was a bid motivator but I didn’t appreciate just how much work was involved and I kind of shot myself n the foot when it came to trying to do everything myself. Right now, I’ve got that first book submitted to a traditional publisher and I have high hopes for it but I’m still building my name in case that doesn’t work out.

Do you have any weird writing habits? Anything that we should be aware of if trying to approach you while you write?

Not really, I usually have music going somewhere but that’s about it.

Your favorite author? Book? Movie? TV-series?

I’m a huge Walking Dead and Bill Maher fan and my to favorite movies are The Last Sumurai and Braveheart. When it comes to authors, where should I begin? It really depends on what genre I’m reading at the time. James Clavel, Tom Clancy are my top two but Roger McBride Allen has done a wonderful job with the Isaac Asimov’s robot books. I’m also a life long fan of Eric Lustbader who has now taken on the Jason Bourne character.

What do you do in your spare time?

I don’t have a whole lot of that but when I do, I’m either spending time with my family or reading. I would like to return to my martial arts training when I can though.

chronicles_of_irindiaAny current projects you’d like to share?

Right now, I’m working on the third book in the Chronicles of Irindia series while I wait for word on whether or not I”ve been accepted by a publisher. I’m also trying to put together an anthology called Androids and other Life Form, which as you can tell from the title is a sci-fi book. But my biggest project, which I have a real love hate relationship with is an Asian themed sci-fi book called Messari, which has been in the works for some time.

I’ve also taken on two other projects, one is a regular column in All Authors Magazine called Randomness in Writing and the other is a blog on blogspot called Artistic Reflections, which I’m planning to use to highlight other authors but also, artists, editors and anyone else in the publishing business, so you might find posts from editors and even a publisher or two down the road.

Wow! You really have a lot of great things going on. What has been the toughest criticism given to you as an author?

A three star review. It was justified, I can’t argue that but it was hard to see that what I had been working on for so long was taking such a beating. The critique wasn’t on the story or the characters, but on my editing. Like I said, I earned that one because I’d been in too much of a rush and hadn’t paid attention to the editing that I should have. It forced me to go back in and go through it again.

Yes, three star reviews…they’re funny because there is actually nothing shameful of getting them but we all hate them…Probably better move to the next question…What has been the best compliment?

I was working as a manager in a restaurant and one day I went to talk to a regular and saw that her daughter was reading my book on her kindle.

That is awesome! Do you have any words of wisdom for the other writers?

Keep at it. It’s easy to get discouraged, stories don’t flow the way you want or you get the dreaded rejection notice. I have a book I’ve started over I don’t know how many times but it’s still it there, waiting to be written. I’ve had the rejection slips but if you’re a writer, then that has to be set aside and you have to continue doing what you love.

Favorite quote?

I’m not sure where it comes from but it’s “Whether you say you can or you say you can’t, you’re right.” Nothing has never been accomplished with the using the term “I can’t”

So true! Where can people find out more about you and your book?

Right now my first book is being considered so I don’t have any buy links I do have others.

https://www.facebook.com/djohn.watson.3

I can also be found here.

http://www.allauthorspp.net/all-authors-magazine/

http://djohnwatson.blogspot.com/

Do you want to tell us something about your book?

What would you do if fate has decreed that you must save a world you never knew existed? This is the problem David Sanchez has after he makes a silent, selfish wish to be anyplace else an finds himself in the land of Irindia
Irindia is being consumed by an ancient evil, which can only be destroyed by reuniting the fragments of a powerful artifact known as the Stone of Irindia. This is a world where magic and ancient myths are not only very real but also very dangerous. And it‘s up to a powerful wizard to act as David‘s mentor and teacher on a quest that will decide the fate of a land.

Allied against them is an equally powerful wizard, Lord Draga and his dark master, a demon named Jumdha Sek. Both are building a nightmare army unlike anything Irindia has ever seen as they hunt the one known as The Gatherer to prevent him from fulfilling his destiny.

Thank you so much for being with us today, John. Please, give John some love by visiting his Facebook page and All Authors Magazine page.

Jen x

 

About jenniferloiske

Jennifer Loiske lives in Finland in Naantali, which is a small sunny town on the southwest coast. She is a pre-school teacher by profession but she stayed at home when her youngest daughter suffered brain fever, which developed severe epilepsy in 2004. She is a workaholic Teen/Young Adult author, who loves dark fantasy, teen movies, chips and candies and warm sunny days. She’s also very keen on charity work and a big part of her royalties goes to the charity; mainly to help families with epileptic children but also to the epilepsy units in the hospitals. As a huge fan of dark novels Jennifer's bookshelf is full of books from L.J. Smith, Alyson Noel, Stephanie Meyer, Chloe Neill, Michelle Rowen, Jennifer L. Armentrout, Amanda Hocking and Lauren Kate. She’s also a huge fan of music from Evanescence, Linkin Park, Within Temptation, OneRepublic and Disturbed. But her hunger for music is endless and depend on what mood she’s in or what kind of book she’s working on. She can be pretty much an omnivore when it comes to music.
This entry was posted in Seven minutes with Jennifer; Interviews and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Seven minutes with Jennifer: Interview of D. John Watson

  1. I love author interviews. The simple and honest way that you’ve given us information about yourself on your page as well helps inspire me to be more myself when I set up my own websites and pages, so thank you for that.

Leave a Reply

