Connecting is fun!

Kuva 15 UEA week does not go by without me defending my social media friends to my ‘real friends’. I bet almost everyone who is active on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram etc. has heard at least once that the world inside of the internet is not real. Well, I disagree. Strongly. I believe as an author that connecting with others is one of the most important thing to do. And no, I don’t mean by connecting spamming your way to peoples ‘blocked’ list. I mean really connecting. Participating in different groups, events, making friends and finding the minds of alike.

Sure, I agree that you need to be careful and perhaps think twice what you’re posting on your sites as if there are predators in real life, there also are predators in the net. But in its best the social media can be your best friend.

For example, I’m a member of over forty groups in Facebook. Some are secret, some open, but every group has a different function. If I have a problem, all I have to do is to visit the group I think can offer the best and fastest solution. Grammar gremlins are cleaned within minutes, just the right kind of music for my new book trailer found in a blink. There is always someone ready and willing to help. No need to call to a help line and wait fifteen minutes to get a real person on the phone. No need to get grey hair when that real person asks you to call to a different number and you know what awaits for you. Okay, my vision of social media is ideal but so far it has worked for me perfectly. Why? Because I follow one simple rule that someone once taught me. Be a giver, not a taker. 

This really is not a competition and by giving you can achieve so much more than by taking. So what, if that indie author who you helped gets a dream deal from a publisher and becomes the next best selling author on New York Best Seller list. So what, if someone sells more books than you just because you helped her to promote her books. Believe me, good always comes back to you. Always.

The internet has made the world so much smaller, giving people the possibility of interacting with all kinds of people and connecting with folks all around the world. For example, I know a man who’s an astronaut, a woman who writes scripts to Disney, a man that is a popular actor in L.A. and a woman who practices old magic and I can promise you, without the social media I wouldn’t have met any of them. I know I’m over positive, but I don’t care. I love my internet friends and am so happy I’ve met each one of them.

Cheers,

Jen

About jenniferloiske

Jennifer Loiske lives in Finland in Naantali, which is a small sunny town on the southwest coast. She is a pre-school teacher by profession but she stayed at home when her youngest daughter suffered brain fever, which developed severe epilepsy in 2004. She is a workaholic Teen/Young Adult author, who loves dark fantasy, teen movies, chips and candies and warm sunny days. She’s also very keen on charity work and a big part of her royalties goes to the charity; mainly to help families with epileptic children but also to the epilepsy units in the hospitals. As a huge fan of dark novels Jennifer's bookshelf is full of books from L.J. Smith, Alyson Noel, Stephanie Meyer, Chloe Neill, Michelle Rowen, Jennifer L. Armentrout, Amanda Hocking and Lauren Kate. She’s also a huge fan of music from Evanescence, Linkin Park, Within Temptation, OneRepublic and Disturbed. But her hunger for music is endless and depend on what mood she’s in or what kind of book she’s working on. She can be pretty much an omnivore when it comes to music.
This entry was posted in My writing journey and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

