I have a special guest on my blog today!!!

altered-cover-FINALI have someone special on my blog today. She’s a good friend, an excellent writer and a talented illustrator. Please, welcome Dianne Gardner!

I want to thank Jennifer for having me guest post on her blog today. This post is part of a blog tour that we’re doing for the launch of my new dystopian novel Altered which will be released April 15. We’re having a Facebook event party that evening (4pm PDT) as well as listing the blogs that will be part of the tour. So please do join us! It will be a lot of fun!

https://www.facebook.com/events/516637715113707/

Jennifer asked me to write something for the paranormal fans so I found myself pondering on this request a few days. I don’t consider my books paranormal; they are more the fantasy genre. But I have to admit, some pretty abnormal things happened in my life that get slipped into my stories from time to time.

I spent much time on both the Navajo and Hopi reservations when I was younger, observing and partaking in ceremonies, and learning the Navajo and Hopi legends and customs. I’m not sure if I would call them paranormal, but many out-of-the-ordinary things happened to me during that period of my life, and I believe those events gave me a different outlook on the world.

One such experience was when my then-husband and I were traveling in a pick-up truck across the reservation. Hundreds of miles of red earth desert and sagebrush was interrupted only occasionally by a spread of homes. These little clusters of abodes consists of a box house, a Hogan (an octagon cedar and mud house), a sheep corral, and an out building. We were acquainted with several families who lived out here more than 200 miles from the closest town. We spent most of our time in country like this so it was nothing new to us. Strangely though, this day I was suddenly struck with uncontrollable muscle cramps. My entire body tightened with horrific pain. The only thing feasible to do was to find a Navajo medicine man.

We had friends on the reservation; still getting them to tell us the whereabouts of a medicine man was a difficult feat. Very rarely would a medicine man tend to a white person, and it was even more rare that his friends would give up his identity. But someone did give us a name, and when we drove to the family’s Hogan and explained what was wrong the man consented to see me. I remember the fire burning outside on that starlit night, the sweet smell of cedar, and the blankets I lay on. He looked at me through a crystal and said, “she has lightning in her body.”

That was all.

He gave me three very small bundles of herbs and told me to make tea from them every day for three days. When the third day came, I was well.

Thank you Dianne. Please, tell us something about yourself.

The Pacific Northwest is my home. After living in the dry desert of Arizona for over 23 years, I tired of always praying for rain, so I decided to come and get it on my own. Gray skies and deep forests give way to the most glorious summers you could ever imagine. Not to mention the abundance of berries, clams, oysters, salmon, fruits of all kinds, to me the Puget Sound area of Washington is the richest place in the world.

I have seven children, all grown. Sixteen grandchildren that need stories written, and so they are my inspiration.

People always find it fascinating that I lived in a mud house for over 13 years, hauling water from the well in a bucket, cooking on a wood stove, planting blue corn in desert washes, and generally living out of the box. Some of these experiences are tapped into my novels.

My website is http://gardnersart.com You’ll find books, audios, artwork and how our movie production is coming along on that site.

Thank you!

Here is a short blurb of Dianne’s new book:

The Privatol invades American soil, and crops propel the engine. Uncontrollable tyranny has succeeded in dictating where people live, what they do, and what they eat. When Abree, a spunky twelve-year-old is taken away to learn the process of modifying seed to Newly Constructed Food she discovers an evil plan that could alter the fate of the human race, and a way out if only she can escape to tell the others.

 

Want to know more?

Dianne Gardner, an award winning author, is also an illustrator living in the Pacific Northwest, USA. She’s an active member of the Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators, and the National League of American Pen Women. Her Ian’s Realm series is published by PDMI Publishing LLC along with four short stories in the A Tale of the Four Wizards series. Her most recent book Altered will be published this year by Master Koda Publishing.She writes for middle grade and young adults targeting boys and adventure loving girls, and the young at heart.

You can see more of Dianne’s work on her website http://gardnersart.com

https://www.facebook.com/DianneLynnGardner

http://www.twitter/@DianneGardner

http://diendrial.wordpress.com/

http://gardnersart.com

http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00FCZ32MG

 

Happy Friday!

Jen x

 

 

 

 

About jenniferloiske

Jennifer Loiske lives in Finland in Naantali, which is a small sunny town on the southwest coast. She is a pre-school teacher by profession but she stayed at home when her youngest daughter suffered brain fever, which developed severe epilepsy in 2004. She is a workaholic Teen/Young Adult author, who loves dark fantasy, teen movies, chips and candies and warm sunny days. She’s also very keen on charity work and a big part of her royalties goes to the charity; mainly to help families with epileptic children but also to the epilepsy units in the hospitals. As a huge fan of dark novels Jennifer's bookshelf is full of books from L.J. Smith, Alyson Noel, Stephanie Meyer, Chloe Neill, Michelle Rowen, Jennifer L. Armentrout, Amanda Hocking and Lauren Kate. She’s also a huge fan of music from Evanescence, Linkin Park, Within Temptation, OneRepublic and Disturbed. But her hunger for music is endless and depend on what mood she’s in or what kind of book she’s working on. She can be pretty much an omnivore when it comes to music.
This entry was posted in Author's Corner, Blog Tours and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

