Cover Reveal and a teaser of RED HUNTER!

RedHunter_kansiFinally the moment I, and a lot of my readers, have been waiting for! It is now officially confirmed that RED HUNTER, Book One of the Blood Hunters series, will be released on November 2014! I’m doing my happy dance here! So if you haven’t read Immortal Blood series yet, maybe you’d like to start now 🙂 You can get the copy of Club Number Five, Book One of Immortal Blood series, here. And so the story begins…

More about this exciting new series:

The hunt is not over!

The story of Samantha Green (Immortal Blood series) continues in this fast paced, utterly hooking new series. Red Hunter, book one of Blood Hunter series, takes on where Immortal Blood series ended, yet being complete stand alone series that does not require reading Immortal Blood series first.

For a second Samantha, ‘Sam’, Green had thought she could finally put her past behind and concentrate on her future. She thought she was being given a second chance and something exciting was looming ahead. But with a past like hers, you really can’t have a future until the ones wanting to kill you will be dead, if even then…

Nothing in Sam’s new life is what it seems. She’s being tossed around with an evil twins, Alexander and Benjamin, droolworthy fighters assigned to take her vampire instincts to a whole new level. Dane and Sam… their relationship can only be described complicated. In an epic way. And Kieran, sweet, blue-eyed servant, a friend and something like a little brother to Sam, drawn in the middle of a play that lunatic master vampires are steering arbitrarily.

Can Sam survive or is she only a pawn in a delusional game where no one can win? Can she beat her enemies in their own game without losing herself in a way? And what happens when she is being introduced to the hunter society ?

…Did I get your attention yet? Here’s some more! Because I love you all, I will give you the first peek what is about to come!

RED HUNTER

Prologue

I stood in the middle of a room and glanced calmly around. So many faces, so many people, and they were all looking at me. I could feel their anxiety, the restlessness that was spreading around them as they waited for me to make the first move.

My eyes scanned the crowd, finally stopping on the dark eyes I recognized. Dane. My first love. My creator. The corners of his lips twitched reassuringly and I gave him a small nod. Okay, I could do this. I’d done this day after day for almost six months now, since apparently my master skill was beating the crap out of the others, which constantly surprised them and, to be honest, myself as well. So in spite of my protests, the list of my voluntary punch bags was inexplicably long. Some bet on me win; some couldn’t wait to see me fall. So far I hadn’t fallen once.

Truth be told, I wasn’t particularly good at any specific martial art, but I was sly and could adapt in a blink, switching from one fighting tactic to another, and messing with the head of my opponent so completely that in the end they had no idea what hit them. And it really didn’t matter what they gave me as a weapon. I’d learned from the start that anything would do. Paper clips, pens, canes, teeth, shoelaces … you name it. So eventually they had stopped giving me stuff. I was on my own, as always, but it didn’t matter. I could deliver what they wanted. A bloodbath and the show of a lifetime.

I took a deep breath, letting the excitement around me fill me, my nostrils trembling slightly as I smelled the sweat, the deep musky scent of men and the luxurious perfume of the women. My ears caught the quiet whispers, the sound of money exchanging hands and the restless sound of clothes rustling as everyone counted the seconds. Someone played with his cellphone, tapping it nervously; someone dropped something and bent absentmindedly to pick it up while continuing her conversation with her companion. My skin prickled, every cell in me turning into something else, something cold and numb, as I detached myself from my surroundings. Closed out completely the murmur of voices and the feeling of danger, refusing to feel the palpable heat in the room that threatened to swallow me whole. For a vanishing moment I could feel panic rising in me, feel doubt crawling into my mind, and my brain screaming ‘what the hell are you doing’. But the feeling was gone before I completely realized it was ever there, leaving me empty, emotionless, and ready to face whatever would come.

I closed my eyes as if in slow motion and opened them again, and for a second there was just me. No crowd, no expectations, nothing.

I blew the air out, emptying my lungs, and rolled my shoulders back. Tilting my neck from side to side I quickly listed the most important rules of dirty fighting in my mind.

I stopped in the middle of the movement, a slow grin spreading over my face, as I realized there really was only one rule I needed to remember. And it was the fact that there were no rules. The master vampire of the house wanted me to prove myself worthy, to see what I was capable of, and yeah, I wanted to see it, too. I wasn’t gonna spend the rest of my life in this hellhole, so I needed to learn what I was made of, to be sure I had it in me to do what was necessary to earn my freedom. To do what my master told me, no questions asked. Besides, I was starting to get bored. I had nothing better to do than train, so within two months I had outdone my trainer and was now basically just waiting to see if there was a limit to what I could do. If I’d ever face anyone as good as me, and if I did, would it be the end of me?

I looked at the crowd again and met deep blue eyes. Gabriel. Speak of the devil. He stared steadily at me, as if he knew exactly what I was thinking. Something warm flashed inside me. Sure, I had beaten him, but he still kept surprising me by standing next to me. Challenging me and pushing me to give everything I had every day. I smiled at him and he returned the smile, although his was more like a wicked grin. He trusted me to wipe the floor with these smug strangers. To show he hadn’t trained me in vain. I wished I had his confidence. Wished I knew the source of his inexhaustible trust in my abilities and the secret behind his calmness, but I didn’t. I knew I should’ve had more faith in him, should trust that he knew my limits, as everything I knew I had learned from him, but yet I found myself holding back. Unable to forget the hazardous flashes in his gaze that I’d caught when he thought I wasn’t looking. The risky suggestions he’d made when I’d hesitated. So no, I didn’t dare take that last step. I didn’t have the courage for ultimate trust, as something told me there would be no going back. And no matter how I tried to push my doubts aside, to let myself drown into the blue pools of his eyes, I had to keep reminding myself that it had been he in the first place that had put me inside this ring. He who waited for me to stretch my limits and he who watched me bleed without a muscle moving on his face. Yes, deep down a small part of me counted on him to stop me if I went too far, to put an end to my opponents if they went too far, but another small part couldn’t be so sure.

Gabriel gave me a small nod and I knew it was time. Pushing my complicated thoughts aside I took a step forward.

“I’m ready.”

A tall, lean woman stepped forward and the crowd parted, leaving us in a large circle.

“Good,” she laughed and locked her eyes on mine.

Good lord, she was sure of herself. But then again her eyes held the wisdom of hundreds of years when mine only held the insecurity of an eighteen-year-old girl. I glanced at Gabriel again and waited for him to look concerned. He didn’t. Instead he drilled his eyes into me, forcing me to read his unspoken instructions and making sure I understood what he meant. I did. And that scared the crap out of me. Strike fast and strike hard. No mercy. I looked at the woman again, trying to figure out her weakest points. She had beautiful, manicured fingernails, shiny blonde hair and skillfully sculpted eyebrows above her amused, gleaming eyes. She looked like a model, not a hundreds-of-years-old vampire who was ready to kick my ass. She laughed as if she could read my mind, which she probably could.

I laughed too and launched myself down, grabbing her ankles with my hands and balancing my body whilst swinging my legs against her. She grabbed my ankles, but was too late. My feet were already around her throat and with one fluid move I broke her neck.

It became eerily silent. I straightened and stood up gracefully. Everyone gawked at me. I stared steadily back, my face blank.

Suddenly they started to cheer and clap their hands like a bunch of maniacs. Someone whistled and I couldn’t help the slow, satisfied grin that crept to my lips.

“Who’s next?”

Yes. My name is Samantha Green and I am a vampire.

RedHunter_CS_2

 

About jenniferloiske

Jennifer Loiske lives in Finland in Naantali, which is a small sunny town on the southwest coast. She is a pre-school teacher by profession but she stayed at home when her youngest daughter suffered brain fever, which developed severe epilepsy in 2004. She is a workaholic Teen/Young Adult author, who loves dark fantasy, teen movies, chips and candies and warm sunny days. She’s also very keen on charity work and a big part of her royalties goes to the charity; mainly to help families with epileptic children but also to the epilepsy units in the hospitals. As a huge fan of dark novels Jennifer's bookshelf is full of books from L.J. Smith, Alyson Noel, Stephanie Meyer, Chloe Neill, Michelle Rowen, Jennifer L. Armentrout, Amanda Hocking and Lauren Kate. She’s also a huge fan of music from Evanescence, Linkin Park, Within Temptation, OneRepublic and Disturbed. But her hunger for music is endless and depend on what mood she’s in or what kind of book she’s working on. She can be pretty much an omnivore when it comes to music.
This entry was posted in New Releases and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

