Seven minutes with Jennifer: Interview of Jalpa Williby!

authorpic

Welcome, Jalpa Williby, to my virtual couch. Please,tell us a something about yourself?

Jalpa Williby immigrated to the United States from India at the tender age of eight. Even as a young girl, Williby pushed herself to face all of the challenges in the “new world.” After graduating with a Bachelors of Science from the University of Illinois, Williby went on to earn Masters in Physical Therapy from Northwestern University. Her passion for helping her patients led her to a specialty in neuroscience, focusing on children and adults with neurological impairments.

Always a lover of books, she creates an unforgettable world with unique characters in Chaysing Trilogy. Both, Chaysing Dreams and Chaysing Memories, are Amazon best sellers and won the Gold Medals from Readers’ Favorite International Book Award Contest. Williby now introduces the highly anticipated final installment, Chaysing Destiny.

Although she loves losing herself in her fictional world, the author lives her own happily ever after with her husband, three children, two cats, and her beautiful puppy.

B1kXOJEIgAALfZAWhat are the genres of your books?

I’ve written Chaysing Trilogy so far. (Chaysing Dreams, Chaysing Memories, Chaysing Destiny) These are definitely multi-genre. There’s coming of age, romance, suspense, thriller, sci-fi, paranormal. Yeah, there’s a lot that happens in these books 🙂 

You have a Masters in Physical Therapy and you’ve made an amazing career in neuroscience, so when did you first consider yourself a writer?

Honestly, about three years ago, I decided to try to write a novel. It was supposed to be nothing serious, but more as a challenge to myself. Once Chaysing Dreams was written, people started telling me that I have a gift of writing. Who knew? Since I enjoy writing (it’s very therapeutic for me), I decided to continue.

Are you a part- or fulltime writer?

I’m a part time writer. I work full time as a physical therapist.

Where do you get ideas for your stories?

My ideas come from this crazy head of mine. I’ve always had an imagination that just keeps going and going. At least through my writing, I can finally express myself and let it all out.

Your stories are extremely good, playing with the human mind as well as the ‘what ifs’. Do you think it’s an advantage to have a profession such as yours, or is it more like a brake that holds you back or makes you overthink everything before writing them down?

As a physical therapist, I’ve had patients with genetic disorders. You know, where the genes mutated or there was some type of anomaly. But I’ve always wondered what happens if the genetics worked out just right? Or if some people ended up getting the perfect genes? I mean, could that explain the geniuses or the super athletes?

Yes, it could! And some other people with perfect genes 😉 Do you do a lot of researching before starting to write or do you go with the flow and check the details later?

I definitely research, take notes, etc. I actually make an outline for the book. I’ll brainstorm on here the different ideas regarding the story. Then, I’ll research any information that’s needed for the specifics. There’s no way I can go with the flow. I would be all over the place with my story if I did that.

What was the hardest part of writing your books?

Truly, a lot of sacrifices are made. I work full time so all the writing occurred in the evenings and weekends. But it’s all very time consuming. I’m literally up until 1:00AM many times and received only a few hours of sleep. I sort of lock myself in my room to concentrate, which means there’s minimal family time. I would say that was the hardest part- trying to manage the time to get it all done.

Indie or traditional publishing? And why?

I chose Indie because I honestly didn’t have the patience or the energy to try for the traditional publishing. I think at first I was thinking about trying the traditional route but then I found out that it could take years to even get an agent. As soon as I heard that, I decided there’s no way I’m waiting that long.

cm new cover_GoldMedalYou won several book awards last year. Has it helped you as an author and if yes, how? Please, tell us more about the awards (see our green faces 🙂 ).

All three books have been awarded the five star seal from Readers’ Favorite by three different reviewers. Also, just last year, Chaysing Dreams and Chaysing Memories won the Gold Medals from Readers’ Favorite International Book Awards in Romance Suspense. They were also finalists for General Fiction, Chick Lit, and Military. I was awarded Excellence in Authorship seal by Authors’ Cave, and several times, the books have won the “Book of the Month” by various groups.

Wow! That’s amazing! Congratulations again! It seems you’re living a writer’s dream! You must reveal your secret to us! Do you have any weird writing habits? Perhaps something you always have to do before starting to write or a secret vice?

I don’t know if I have any secrets regarding this, but I do know that when I write a story, I completely bury myself in the story. I mean, I’m actually living in that world. I feel every emotion that the characters’ go through. This is the only way I can write. It’s almost scary how obsessive I become I can’t do anything else but write the story. I think about it when I drive, when I shower, before I go to sleep… every spare minute. It’s nuts! But I do think this is the reason why my readers also feel the passion in these stories. I’ve had so many readers tell me that they felt like they were right there with the characters… that they felt every emotion.

If you could cast the perfect dream cast for you books, who would it be?

I would pick Liam Hemsworth for Chayse Pierce, Meaghan Rath for Tess Sanoby, Collin Farrel for Tom Sterns, Hayden Panettiere for Kylie, Jesse Metcalfe for Jack, and Rhona Mitra for Aunt Jenna. Here’s my link for the dream cast: http://jalpawilliby.com/chaysing-trilogy-the-dream-cast/

Mmmh…no saying on that! I’d definitely come to see a movie with those actors! What do you do in your spare time?

I don’t really have spare time…ever. The only time is if I force myself to take some time like going on vacation. So, when I’m on vacation, I purposefully avoid doing any work. I even try to stay away from social media. It may be for very short time, but it’s definitely good for the soul.

Any current projects you’d like to share?

I have started working on a book called “My Perfect Imperfections.” It’s a fictional story about a girl with Cerebral Palsy.

What has been the toughest criticism given to you as an author?

I’ve been told that the first book is slow in the beginning. I think it’s because they may not have realized that it’s coming of age at first. So really, it’s about the main character growing up and going through all of the growing pains. But because of that criticism, I have tried to get the sequels fast paced and full of action right away.

What has been the best compliment?

I was treating a patient who was blind. One day in the middle of our treatment, he said I was beautiful. We liked to kid around with each other so I said, “Thank you, although I’m not sure how much of a compliment that is being that you’re blind.” We both chuckled. Then he said, “Ah, but a blind man doesn’t see with his eyes, he sees with his heart.”

I’ve never forgotten this compliment.

Wise man! Do you have any words of wisdom for the other writers?

Write with your heart and soul. Don’t hold anything back. Take pride in it and put your best out there for the world to see.

Favorite quote?

Sing like no one is listening.
Love like you’ve never been hurt.
Dance like nobody’s watching,
and live like it’s heaven on earth.

The quick ones:

I love…my family.

I hate…hate groups.

Favorite person? My children (I know that’s more than one person- sorry, I cheated)

Favorite creature? Elephants

Night or day? Day

Cat or dog? Both (I have both for pets)

I believe…in the power of love.

Where can people find out more about you and your books?

Website: http://jalpawilliby.com/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/ChaysingDreamsNovel

Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.com/jalpaw/

 

chaysingtrilogyteaserDo you want to tell us something about your book? 

I’d love to share some teasers:

Chaysing Dreams Teaser One

I creep toward my window. Is something going on outside? I slowly peek out but I don’t notice anything unusual. I decide to get a better look. I deliberately pad across the carpet to get closer to the window, squinting to see if I notice anything suspicious.

That’s when he grabs me! I feel a strong arm grab me from behind and the other hand is on my mouth before I can scream. He’s holding a handkerchief against my mouth. I squirm and push at his arm to shove him off of me. But he’s too strong. I start to shake my head back and forth to try to free myself. I’m having difficulty focusing! I can’t think straight. Oh my god! He’s drugging me with the handkerchief covering my mouth and nose. I try to hold my breath as I struggle to push his hand away from me and get out of his hold. But it’s useless. He’s too strong. Somebody please help me! But nobody comes. Then, in a very low tone, I hear him say in my ear, “Sorry, sweetheart.”

I fade into darkness.

Chaysing Dreams Teaser Two

He grabs my arm and takes the shirt out of my hand. “Not yet,” he says softly. “And I wasn’t talking about my other women. They were nothing but distraction.”

“A distraction? What kind of an adjective is that to describe one of your women? Is that what I am to you? A distraction?” Infuriated, I try to pull my arm out of his hold. His grasp tightens. Suddenly, he’s so close to me that our bodies are almost touching.

“Not only are you my distraction, Tessnia, but you are my heart as well. And you see, that’s not a good combination.” His voice lowers to barely a whisper. “I was talking about you when I said it’s nothing I haven’t seen before. My dearest Tessnia, I remember everything about you, every single detail. You have no idea how many nights I have stayed up thinking about what we shared–the time I saw every inch of your body. Believe me, I have embedded that memory into my brain, into my soul. I will always remember how you were screaming for me.”

Chaysing Memories Teaser One

“Don’t.” I freeze at the sound of his cold voice. “Get ready to defend yourself.”

As soon as he finishes his sentence, his other arm comes to strike. My reflexes kick in and I’m easily able to block him. He releases my arm and begins striking with both of his arms. I block him and flip backwards to get out of the zone of his strikes. Ok, that’s how he wants to play it. I tried to refuse, but hell, he’s asking for it now!

I run full speed at him and flip onto my hands, using my legs to grab his neck. He’s too quick, grabbing both my legs in midair and pushing me off of him. I land back up on my feet and I spin to connect my kick into his torso. Pierce again shows his quick reflexes by swiftly moving himself out of the way. All I hear is the “swoosh” of my legs in the empty air, not connecting to anything. Frustrated, I attack full force, alternating from legs to arms, attempting to at least have one of my strikes connect.

Chaysing Memories Teaser Two

I’m running. The gunshots are ringing in my ears. I have to try to escape. Somebody is telling me to run faster. It’s Chayse. Chayse is running behind me, saying not to stop. I’m suddenly trapped. Terrible men surround me and begin circling me. I look at Chayse for help. But he looks different. His eyes are dark and empty. He doesn’t recognize me. He slowly walks toward me.

“Chayse?” I whisper. He laughs, a cruel, horrible laugh that sends chills down my spine. He grabs my hair and pulls it so that my neck falls back.

“I told you I had a dark side. You just didn’t want to believe me. Now look at you—trapped and nowhere to go.” He laughs again, louder.

Chaysing Destiny Teaser One

He tackles me down, landing on top of me. “You’re mine! Do you hear me? Nobody else’s! Mine!” His hand has a tight grip of my hair, and he tries to kiss me again. But I turn my head away, scratching his back. He holds my head and kisses me again, his tongue trying to pry my mouth open. I keep my lips tight, using all my might to push him off of me. Unfortunately, he’s a lot bigger and stronger than I, and he doesn’t budge.

“Stop!” Somehow, I force the words out while I continue to struggle.

“Tell me you’re mine. Say it!” He is full of dark fury. I’m so disgusted with him that all I want to do is scratch his eyes out.

“No, I won’t say it! You’re a sick bastard!” I hiss.

“Oh you have no idea, darling.”

Chaysing Destiny Teaser Two

As the man steps into the doorway, all I see is his broad, muscular back. Before he can react, I shut the door with my shoulder and throw myself on his back with all my might, attempting to knock him down. Unfortunately, both my hands are useless since they’re tied behind my back, but I use my strength and agility to forcefully shove him down to the floor. I must have caught him by surprise, so I’m able to use it to my advantage. Once the man falls face down, I throw myself on his back. I attempt to smash my head against the back of his, hoping to bang his against the hard cement floor.

But the man quickly turns around and grabs me. Knowing this is my only chance to escape, I ferociously throw and lash my body against him, hoping to land some hits with my head and shoulders. I don’t register anything around me. My only focus is to somehow knock this man out.

Thank you so much for being with us today, Jalpa! Readers, stay tuned! Jalpa will be here all week!

Cheers,

Jen x

 

About jenniferloiske

Jennifer Loiske lives in Finland in Naantali, which is a small sunny town on the southwest coast. She is a pre-school teacher by profession but she stayed at home when her youngest daughter suffered brain fever, which developed severe epilepsy in 2004. She is a workaholic Teen/Young Adult author, who loves dark fantasy, teen movies, chips and candies and warm sunny days. She’s also very keen on charity work and a big part of her royalties goes to the charity; mainly to help families with epileptic children but also to the epilepsy units in the hospitals. As a huge fan of dark novels Jennifer's bookshelf is full of books from L.J. Smith, Alyson Noel, Stephanie Meyer, Chloe Neill, Michelle Rowen, Jennifer L. Armentrout, Amanda Hocking and Lauren Kate. She’s also a huge fan of music from Evanescence, Linkin Park, Within Temptation, OneRepublic and Disturbed. But her hunger for music is endless and depend on what mood she’s in or what kind of book she’s working on. She can be pretty much an omnivore when it comes to music.
This entry was posted in Seven minutes with Jennifer; Interviews and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Seven minutes with Jennifer: Interview of Jalpa Williby!

  1. Thank you so much for having me. ❤

Leave a Reply

