“One Last Chance To Save Happily Ever After!”

The best part of interviewing authors is that I get to meet the most interesting people and find books that I probably would have never found on my own. Interviewing Roy Mauritsen was a special treat for me as not only are his book covers quite eye catching but the little I’ve already read of his stories has hooked me for good. Roy, you have a new fan here! So who is this guy? Yeah, I can see you’re all dying to know, so I’m not gonna hold the information any longer!

RoyM_author_RGBSpanning a 20+ year professional career as a graphic designer, Roy Mauritsen is also an award-winning digital fantasy artist and author of the Shards of the Glass Slipper series. Presently, Roy Mauritsen handles photography and television commercial production as a day job and also keeps himself busy moonlighting as an art director and book cover designer with over 50 book covers published so far. Recently, Roy Mauritsen has added “audiobook producer” to his growing list of endeavors. In March 2015, Mr. Mauritsen released his first audiobook for Book One: Queen Cinder in his Shards of the Glass Slipper series, collaborating with professional narrator Christopher Crosby Morris. Rather than a straight read through, Mr. Mauritsen spent nearly two months editing over 16 hours of recordings to mix in sound effects and music scores to create a more enhanced listening experience much like a radio drama. A similar audiobook is planned for Book II: Queen Alice.

Find out the latest at http://www.facebook.com/shardsoftheglassslipper or follow @roymauritsen on twitter.

http://www.roymauritsen.com

shardsbook1_coverAbout the book: One Last Chance To Save Happily Ever After! Can a group of heroes, including Goldenhair, Red Riding Hood, and Rapunzel, help General Snow White and her dwarven resistance fighters defeat the tyrannical Queen Cinderella? And will they succeed before a war with Wonderland destroys everything? Their only hope to stop Cinderella’s quest for power lies with a young girl named Patience Muffet. She carries the fabled shards of Cinderella’s glass slippers, as well as the dark secret of who murdered the last of the fairy godmothers. Roy A.Mauritsen’s fantasy adventure fairy tale epic begins with Shards of the Glass Slipper: Queen Cinder.

“Fantastic… A Magnificent Epic!” -Sarah Beth Durst, author of Into The Wild & Drink, Slay, Love

“The Brothers Grimm meets Lord of the Rings.” -Patrick Thomas, author of The Murphy’s Lore series

“…A worthy writer with real talent and a unique vision, A combination rare & important.”-Janet Morris, author of Beyond Sanctuary & The Sacred Band.

“Roy Mauritsen’s enchanting epic comes at a time when fairy tales are back in the forefront of our collective imagination. If you’ve missed the stone halls and warm fireplaces of Happily Ever After then look no further.” -Darin Kennedy, author

Video Links:
Book I Queen Cinder:http://www.amazon.com/Shards-Glass-Slipper-Queen-Cinder-ebook/dp/B007V538QA/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1435944917&sr=8-1&keywords=shards+of+the+glass+slipper

Book II Queen Alice: http://www.amazon.com/Shards-Glass-Slipper-Queen-Alice-ebook/dp/B00IP01PSS/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1435944917&sr=8-2&keywords=shards+of+the+glass+slipper

Audiobook (Queen Cinder): http://www.audible.com/pd/Sci-Fi-Fantasy/Shards-of-the-Glass-Slipper-Audiobook/B00UUKF9BA/ref=a_search_c4_1_1_srTtl?qid=1435945006&sr=1-1

Promo videos:
Audiobook: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wECevoqI5Og

Book I Trailer: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i1w0-1QojUo

BookII trailer: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8wBrdsEEtfQ
shardsbookII-coverWow! You’ve been busy! I’m awed, and that does not happen often. Okay, Roy, you have to tell us more about you and your writing career! When did you first consider yourself a writer?
I’ve always written stories growing up. Playing Role-playing games like Dungeons and Dragons gave further inspirations to write and provided a wonderful way to hone storytelling. But Professionally I pay the bills as a graphic artist and I have great success as an artist; I’ve always considered my self an artist, more than a writer. So I don’t know when I’ll actually consider myself as a writer despite having published 2 novels!

Oh, man! You don’t give enough credit to yourself. What I’ve read so far…oh, yeah, you’re definitely a writer! Since that is settled, please, tell us where do you get ideas for your stories?
Anything I would bother to invest the time and effort to write is usually because it’s a story I’d want to read and characters I want to meet and find out more about. I’ve always loved fairy tales and Alice in Wonderland is a favorite story growing up. I researched many of the original fairy tale stories and and started to weave together plot lines that would encompass many of my favorite fairy tales.

Why did you choose to write in this genre?
Growing up I’ve always been drawn to fantasy stories. I guess when I think of story ideas I default to magic and dragons and fantasy, before I think of psychological thrillers or police procedurals. Plus fairy tales just lend themselves to fantasy. There are plenty of modern day takes of fairy tales or genre flipping like a science fiction take on Snow White.. but what I found interesting was how much fairy tales can thrive in an epic fantasy setting… you have castles and princes and dragons, fairies, trolls and ogres. So keeping it squarely in this genre allowed me to really incorporate nearly two dozen fairy tale references into an epic fantasy plot.

I so hear you! Fantasy and paranormal stuff have always been my number one choice, too. Do you do a lot of researching before starting to write or do you go with the flow and check the details (if doing so) later?
It was very important to pull details from various fairy tales and to make sure that the characters I’d used or the references were accurate. If one is a familiar with fairy tales there are a lot of “easter eggs” but even for the causal ready that is only vaguely familiar with fairy tales they would I hope enjoy the story as well. All of the significant characters in Shards Of The Glass Slipper are based in fairy tales and nursery rhymes etc so details and references must be accurate even parts of dialogue that is used. The more reference and detail that carries over from the original stories to my stories only severs to further make these fairy tale character more real in a sense.

I’m purring here…fairy tales and nursery rhymes…yep, you got me! What was the hardest part of writing your books?
In the early part of developing the story it’s sorting through all of the plethora of famous and not as famous fairy tales to find the ones that can work together well thematically at least or even a more direct relationship. For example, I was able to work the glass coffin from Snow White, to the Glass Slippers of Cinderella with a little bit of a Sleeping beauty theme thrown in. I was able to draw a correlation between the giant beanstalk of Jack and the Beanstalk with the magic of Wonderland. There is a lot of mixing of fairy tales and ensemble characters but these elements are researched early on in the foundation of the story.

Have you ever had a writer ’s block and if yes, how did you make it go away?
I plot and write in a non linear fashion. So if I’m stuck on a chapter or a scene.. I can refer to my story map and write another chapter totally not related to the scene I might be hung up on or if I don’t feel like writing a particular character switching to a different part of the story to write helps me put off dealing with that character and still moves the word count along. As an artist, I can step away from the writing but continue to explore my story artistically visually creating aches from my story and doing character artwork. going to that other side of my brain for a little usually clears up any writer’s block

That is an excellent tip! I always have a lot of WIPs at the same time so I can jump from WIP to WIP but if one day I only had one WIP… definitely going to try that! What do you do in your spare time?
I don’t give myself all that much time off. I have a day job that I’m lucky that I get to be creative in, additionally I have obligations as an Art Director for Perseid Press and Padwolf Publishing. I create a lot of book covers for them and other clients as well and I create a lot of marketing material as well. Then I have my own creative projects like writing as well. I don’t watch very much TV and I don’t play video games that often, to me those are huge time wasters. I do enjoy photography, movies, traveling, Horseback riding, SCUBA diving and I play a lot of league level beach volleyball.

Sounds great! What has been the toughest criticism given to you as an author?
Not a criticism per se’ but a hard fact that I had to come to terms with is sometimes people you trust would rather sit back and hope you fail so they could say “told you so” then try to help you succeed. But any criticism would only make me work that much harder to succeed.

I agree! What has been the best compliment?
I was asked to autograph someone’s Kindle at a convention once! The best compliments are when I am at a convention and I get to talk to people not just about my work … but about theirs and they take the time to tell me about the novel they are writing or to talk to them and see their artwork that they are sharing with me. the biggest compliment is that I get help others and maybe inspire them a little a bit. That if I can do this stuff…they can too.

the-rescue-display_finalCould you give us a one sentence synopsis of your book.
A fairy tale epic fantasy adventure that pits General Snow White and her dwarven army against the evil queen Cinderella in a battle to save happily ever after before a war with Wonderland destroys everything.

 

If you could meet one celebrity author who would it be and why?
Douglas Adams. Because he died too soon.

Do you have any words of wisdom for the other writers?
Write. Write what you want and how you want. It’s your story, your style and your voice.
Just write something and finish it- the most important part to setting a goal is to make it happen!

That is so true! Favorite quote?
“The way to get started is to quit talking and begin doing.” – Walt Disney

The quick ones:

I love the ocean

I hate Liars

Favorite person? My wife

Favorite creature? Dragons

Night or day? Day

Cat or dog? Dog

I believe: I can

Oh, my! I am so happy to have you here today! You’re an inspiration for sure and I hope tons of readers will find your books and enjoy them as much as I’m doing (which is a lot, in case that wasn’t clear for you!). Have a fabulous week and I truly hope we’ll be seeing you around some other time as well!

Cheers,

Jen x

P.S. By clicking the images you’ll go straight to Amazon and can purchase a copy of Roy’s books!

About jenniferloiske

Jennifer Loiske lives in Finland in Naantali, which is a small sunny town on the southwest coast. She is a pre-school teacher by profession but she stayed at home when her youngest daughter suffered brain fever, which developed severe epilepsy in 2004. She is a workaholic Teen/Young Adult author, who loves dark fantasy, teen movies, chips and candies and warm sunny days. She’s also very keen on charity work and a big part of her royalties goes to the charity; mainly to help families with epileptic children but also to the epilepsy units in the hospitals. As a huge fan of dark novels Jennifer's bookshelf is full of books from L.J. Smith, Alyson Noel, Stephanie Meyer, Chloe Neill, Michelle Rowen, Jennifer L. Armentrout, Amanda Hocking and Lauren Kate. She’s also a huge fan of music from Evanescence, Linkin Park, Within Temptation, OneRepublic and Disturbed. But her hunger for music is endless and depend on what mood she’s in or what kind of book she’s working on. She can be pretty much an omnivore when it comes to music.
This entry was posted in Author's Corner and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to “One Last Chance To Save Happily Ever After!”

  1. Roy M. says:

    Wonderful interview! thank you very much!

  2. eranamage says:

    Reblogged this on Library of Erana and commented:
    A great reblogged interview with Roy Mauritsen

  3. I love your approach to interviews Jennifer, not only are they helpful and informative, but they’re fun too! Love the concept of Roy’s story combining fairy tales with epic fantasy! Thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

