Have you ever heard a song that gave you some great writing ideas?

I know someone who has! Meet Stephany Tullis, an author of The Master’s Plan! Here’s what Stephany has to say about herself:

51NBnkFCeEL._UX250_My spirituality is the force behind my being. In my world, there is no life without writing, traveling, family, music and my love of politics. My loves and interests are central to my writing.

I published my first novel The Master’s Plan, A Novel About Purpose in November 2013 and my first Christmas novel, 48 Hours ‘Til Christmas, in November 2014.

BLUE LADY (a short story), published in February 2015, launched my first series, The Angelica Mason Series. The first full installment in this series, entitled BLUE LADY’S Sweet Dreams is scheduled for release November 6th 2015 to be followed by BLUE LADY’S Mission Impossible in Spring 2016.

I love Christmas and all the merriment and joy that it brings! My 2015 Christmas release Love, Peace & Joy is on pre-order, scheduled for release October 30th 2015.

I live in Georgia with my family where I continue to write professionally and have published on Examiner.com as Atlanta’s Society and Culture Examiner and in various health related peer review journals.

Thank you, Stephany. So…Do you ever dream about your characters? If yes, what is the weirdest dream you’ve had?

No, I don’t recall ever dreaming about one of my characters. Day dream yes, but not a literal dream. I have, however, dreamt about something, someplace or an idea and upon awakening think, Gee, that’s great, sounds like Angelica, or I bet Selena would love to do that. So my characters—old and new- and writing are always very much in my mind. Music is a big motivator for me…hearing a song or singing along provides me a lot of writing ideas and motivates me tremendously. For example, the title of an upcoming book came to me as I was driving and listening to a CD my brother recently gave me.

What is your earliest childhood memory?

I don’t know if this is the earliest but it’s definitely the most vivid (a very painful one, at that). I was in kindergarten and outside playing with the rest of class during break. I lived in the north (US) at the time. I remember it was very cold. I have images of icicles. For some unknown reason, I decided to poke my tongue out and lick the snowflakes as they dropped onto a metal railing. Not a good experience to say the least but one I definitely remember!

51iZAisfhuL._SX310_BO1,204,203,200_Do you believe in destiny? If yes why, if no why.

Yes, I believe in destiny and life purpose and view them as interrelated concepts. I believe we all have a purpose and most likely multiple purposes for our lives. I don’t believe there are accidents—there’s a reason for everything. These concepts are the basis for the storyline in my first novel, The Master’s Plan. I have a faith based spiritual background so these concepts are driving forces for me…but like my two main characters in The Master’s Plan, I also believe we sometimes get confused about, don’t like or choose to ignore our purpose (s) and sorta, kinda screw up our destiny.

Why did you choose to write in this genre?

I struggle with the genre issue because, in general, I describe my writing as writing with a purpose irrespective of genre! My first two publications, The Master’s Plan and 48 Hours ‘Til Christmas are pegged Christian/Inspirational –I do not specifically market them as such so they have both been read by broad audiences and receive very positive reviews. As such, they meet my personal writing goal –to share underlying principles about important concepts such as life, purpose, forgiveness, hope, peace, etc. with my readers.

I love Christmas and published Love, Peace & Joy: 3 Short Stories this year. None of the stories are particularly inspirational focused. Instead, key topics are marriage, family, and relationships all of which greatly influence our ability to enjoy and appreciate the holidays. As with all my writing, good food, music and fun permeate the pages leaving readers feeling well-nourished—literally—pun intended.

In February, 2015, I published BLUE LADY, a short story that introduces my new small town romance series, The Angelica Mason series. Readers will be hearing and seeing much more about super woman, know it all, control it all Angelica Mason.

Do you do a lot of researching before starting to write or do you go with the flow and check the details (if doing so) later?

If I’m writing about a topic or setting/location with which I am unfamiliar, I conduct my research before I start. For example, several of my books reference Smoothville, Georgia, a fictional small southern town with a population of about 150 to 250 thousand citizens. In structuring the setting, I chose several cities that I used as visual imagery for shaping the respective settings and researched demographics, topography, etc. for those actual cities and applied related details to my fictional town as appropriate. In reality, Smoothville is a compilation of several small towns and not just one.

I also research continuously as I write so I am constantly searching for visuals to help me translate and develop my thought process, writing and characters. I am a researcher by profession and enjoy all aspects of the process including searching the web for the latest fashions for Angelica Mason, a very fashion conscious character.

If I realize I need to be know more about a specific topic or issue while writing but do not want to disrupt the flow of my writing, I highlight the area in my text to remind myself to further research the topic or issue down the road.

What is the one question you’ve always hoped someone would ask you?

I’ve never thought about this question. Since I committed to myself to answer all questions asked, I’ll take a crack at this one. I’d love for someone—a legitimate/credible person—to ask if they could create a movie of my book, The Master’s Plan. Of course, I’d be happy if someone asked to create a movie of any of my other books as well.

And having said that, the answer would be YES, YES, YES! (With appropriate conditions of course.)

What is your next project?

I have two upcoming scheduled projects: The release of BLUE LADY’S Sweet Dreams, the sequel to BLUE LADY. I hope to release this book in February, 2016—for Valentine’s Day. I am also working with a group of fellow writers on a romance Anthology that will be released in July of 2016.

I am optimistic that I can complete the sequel to The Master’s Plan by the end of 2016….it’s been in the works for some time now and I believe this is the year to finish it up. It’s currently entitled, The Sea of Forgetfulness.

Thank you! If you want to know more about Stephany, please, visit her site here. You can also purchase a copies of her books from the same place 🙂 

 

About jenniferloiske

Jennifer Loiske lives in Finland in Naantali, which is a small sunny town on the southwest coast. She is a pre-school teacher by profession but she stayed at home when her youngest daughter suffered brain fever, which developed severe epilepsy in 2004. She is a workaholic Teen/Young Adult author, who loves dark fantasy, teen movies, chips and candies and warm sunny days. She’s also very keen on charity work and a big part of her royalties goes to the charity; mainly to help families with epileptic children but also to the epilepsy units in the hospitals. As a huge fan of dark novels Jennifer's bookshelf is full of books from L.J. Smith, Alyson Noel, Stephanie Meyer, Chloe Neill, Michelle Rowen, Jennifer L. Armentrout, Amanda Hocking and Lauren Kate. She’s also a huge fan of music from Evanescence, Linkin Park, Within Temptation, OneRepublic and Disturbed. But her hunger for music is endless and depend on what mood she’s in or what kind of book she’s working on. She can be pretty much an omnivore when it comes to music.
This entry was posted in Author's Corner and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Have you ever heard a song that gave you some great writing ideas?

  1. Inspired by a song? Love it! You never know what is going to get the creative juices flowing.

  2. Beautiful book. Nice to get to know Stephanie 🙂

Leave a Reply

