Come out and play with me! It’s Page Roulette time!

I love games! All kind of games, and I bet I’m not the only one. So, I’ve decided to start a new game here on my page…Page Roulette! A very simple and fun game, a game where YA Authors all over the world are given a page number, that’s right, given, they don’t get to choose which page they want to show you and neither do I. It is a fair game and the number has been picked by True Random Numbers. So without boring you to death, here is my first victim…errr…guest, and her book…

becki1 my cover bigger format

Beyond the Eyes by Rebekkah Ford

Page 96

When I got home, I immediately went to work. A fierce wind rattled the windows, and a rumble broke just above the roof. I kept my mind busy by highlighting the book for Tree, not wanting to think about anything else but that. I pretty much knew the story, so it didn’t take me long to do. Afterwards, I turned the TV on. A continuous beeping filled the room with a robotic voice warning of a serious thunderstorm for my county.

Damn, if only Nathan . . .

Cutting that thought off, I redirected my mind on my own essay. It was easy, and I had the rough draft done before bedtime. The lights flickered at the same time the phone rang. Closing my notebook, I rose from the kitchen table and went to the phone. With a pounding heart, I looked at caller I.D. and picked it up.

“Hi, Carrie,” I said, taking slow breaths to calm my heart.

A flash of white light sparked through the sliding glass window in the kitchen. Then a loud boom shook the house. The lights flickered again. I snatched a flashlight from a bottom cupboard in the kitchen and place it on the table next to my schoolwork.

“Are you mad at me?” she asked point blank.

“No, I just need some time to myself.” I moved over to the window and watched Mother Nature’s strobe stab through the dark forest. For a brief second, I thought I saw a face poking out from behind a tree. It looked like Nathan, but when I took a closer look, there was nothing there.

“Promise.”

“I swear. I’m not mad at you.” I yanked the curtains across the window and scolded myself for being so pathetic. I mean, seriously, I had to force myself not to think about Nathan, and now I was having hallucinations of him. How sad was that?

“Good, because I was worried when Matt said you’d talk to me later, and you didn’t call.”

“It’s all good,” I said.

The rain thrashed across the windows, followed by a ding, ding, ding sound. Hail.

Carrie stayed on the phone with me until the storm died, probably because she knew how I hated to be alone in a thunderstorm. She told me all about her date with Matt and that they made out for hours in his jeep. But before we hung up, she became quiet. I braced myself for the inevitable question…

BTE FREE Ad

Want to read more? I know, I do, for sure! But hurry! Beyond the Eyes is now FREE so run, grab your copy and enjoy the ride 🙂 

Amazon US: http://www.amazon.com/Beyond-Eyes-Rebekkah-Ford-ebook/dp/B0088JF7HQ/
Amazon UK: http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B0088JF7HQ/

B&N: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/beyond-the-eyes-rebekkah-ford/1111446053?ean=2940045308588

Smashwords: http://www.smashwords.com/books/view/168857

 

Cheers,

Jen

 

About jenniferloiske

Jennifer Loiske lives in Finland in Naantali, which is a small sunny town on the southwest coast. She is a pre-school teacher by profession but she stayed at home when her youngest daughter suffered brain fever, which developed severe epilepsy in 2004. She is a workaholic Teen/Young Adult author, who loves dark fantasy, teen movies, chips and candies and warm sunny days. She’s also very keen on charity work and a big part of her royalties goes to the charity; mainly to help families with epileptic children but also to the epilepsy units in the hospitals. As a huge fan of dark novels Jennifer's bookshelf is full of books from L.J. Smith, Alyson Noel, Stephanie Meyer, Chloe Neill, Michelle Rowen, Jennifer L. Armentrout, Amanda Hocking and Lauren Kate. She’s also a huge fan of music from Evanescence, Linkin Park, Within Temptation, OneRepublic and Disturbed. But her hunger for music is endless and depend on what mood she’s in or what kind of book she’s working on. She can be pretty much an omnivore when it comes to music.
This entry was posted in Page Roulette and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Come out and play with me! It’s Page Roulette time!

  1. debb323 says:

    Neat idea it stir up interest!

Leave a Reply

