Natalie Star Blog Tour

Natalie photoToday I have Natalie Star on my blog and she’s sharing her greatest moments as a writer with us!

Natalie: While I didn’t recognize myself as a “writer” back then, my greatest moment was the moment I received a contract from my publisher, Decadent Publishing.

Originally I wanted to write my story as three novellas, but after sending in the first part, I was told that I needed to turn in the complete story. Along with that was a list of nine other things that I could improve upon.

This was a silly idea I had to actually write something in the first place. Writing is not something I ever planed to do. It was a crazy idea I had when my family was snowed in for four days. What else was there to do? The snow wasn’t even good packing snow.

I wrote a story and submitted it, and it was shot down for being bad, really bad. That was cool. I could mark writing a novel off my bucket list. But then one day I had a dream, I wrote about that dream, and I submitted it after the urging of my friends son (thanks Avery).

That was the story that needed to be approved upon. My email said to work on those things and resubmit it if I wanted to. I didn’t want to. It seemed like too much work and too much of a headache, and who are these people to tell me what to do? My writing was done. Weeks later, I was thinking about my story and the suggestions the acquisitions editor sent. My friend’s son was asking what I was going to do about it. So after another few days of thinking, I started up my laptop and worked on each suggestion one by one.Before I knew it, I had quadrupled my word count and had a 75K word novel on my hands. I read through it, and decided it wasn’t a bad story so I resubmitted it. I didn’t know but the publisher wasn’t taking any submissions at the time, but since they told me I could revise and resubmit if I wanted to they accepted it. A week later there was a contract in my inbox!

Best. Feeling. Ever.

I remember bouncing up and down in my chair and my kids were staring at me like I was loony. I texted my husband the news and none of us could believe it. This was never in our life plan. I was so excited and so flattered that someone thought my work was good enough to publish.

That was the greatest moment in my writing career, opening that email with the little paperclip on the side indicating I had an attachment, none of the previous emails from them had one. So I knew right away, this one was different.

Natalie JPEG Image (133800)About the author:

Up until four years ago – Natalie hated reading and never wanted to be an author, yet here she is. A little thing called Twilight came along and changed things. After reading the sparkly vamp series, she continued to read more, consuming one vampire story after the next. Then one day she had a dream. One that she couldn’t shake. Four days later she typed the dream out, and that became the start of her YA paranormal romance novel, The Keeper.

When Natalie’s not reading or writing, she can be found with her husband supporting their two children on the soccer fields. Or maybe running around with her camera taking photos while camping and/or hiking. Or lastly, and most probable – She’s watching TV while simultaneously perusing her social media sites.

Their family resides in the state of Virginia along with an old-unintelligent-diabetic cat named Lucky.

About jenniferloiske

Jennifer Loiske lives in Finland in Naantali, which is a small sunny town on the southwest coast. She is a pre-school teacher by profession but she stayed at home when her youngest daughter suffered brain fever, which developed severe epilepsy in 2004. She is a workaholic Teen/Young Adult author, who loves dark fantasy, teen movies, chips and candies and warm sunny days. She’s also very keen on charity work and a big part of her royalties goes to the charity; mainly to help families with epileptic children but also to the epilepsy units in the hospitals. As a huge fan of dark novels Jennifer's bookshelf is full of books from L.J. Smith, Alyson Noel, Stephanie Meyer, Chloe Neill, Michelle Rowen, Jennifer L. Armentrout, Amanda Hocking and Lauren Kate. She’s also a huge fan of music from Evanescence, Linkin Park, Within Temptation, OneRepublic and Disturbed. But her hunger for music is endless and depend on what mood she’s in or what kind of book she’s working on. She can be pretty much an omnivore when it comes to music.
This entry was posted in Blog Tours and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

