WOW Wednesday! Wowing Jennifer Don and Dominique Goodall!

547590_362951947156556_2052784519_n-20140706-134209Jennifer Don was born as the solstice approached in Stirling, Scotland. She spent the first seven years there before moving with her family to the quaint, seaside town Oban. It is there she found her love of writing and exploring new depths of a once hidden world. Jennifer’s hobbies include reading and art as well as relaxing to music – when the muse allows her of course. Using the wolves that guide her inspiration, her characters often find themselves similarly guided towards truth.

Excerpt from Jennifer’s story:

“What are you?” I said softly, pushing myself up off the dirt until I stood almost level with this wolf-like creature before me. I could tell instantly that it was a she; her body was slim below her black and white fur. I had never seen such a creature before, one with a face like no other. It was almost like she was two animals in

one as one half of her face was black, while the other remained white. My head tilted in curiosity as I watched her take a step closer to me. “I said….”

“I know what you said, young wolf. I am like you, but I’m not. I’m what they call a dog, a wolf whom isn’t one. Though I am one, deep down inside.” She looked straight at me as though she wasn’t afraid of me, but I felt no threat from her and chose not to challenge her for what some would deem a fight for dominance. “Where is your family? It isn’t safe in these parts.”

I shook my head and lowered my back end until I sat even with her. “I… I have no family. I left them before they could leave me. They are heading straight into the eye of a great storm, and all my warnings went unheard. I tried, but they wouldn’t listen and so I took matters into my own paws. North is the name, in case you wondered. Not that you would care, no-one ever cares about me.”

North, Jennifer Don

409187_577899375562160_244077970_n-20140706-134215Dominique Goodall is a modern day, pro-wolf Red Riding Hood. Living in the UK, she was only able to see the wolves within the confines of a zoo – or so she thought. A chance meeting gave her the opportunity to meet her lupine inspiration up close and personal, resulting in a chance leap and a wolf in her arms for a hug! She lives with a plethora of pets, not limited to her dog and snakes and they give her inspiration for her fantasies and allegories.

Excerpt from Domique’s story:

My paws tread on verdant, hallowed ground

And I pray to the moon, I’ll always be around.

The one to lift my head in song,

Holding a will for life, so eternally strong.

I often look around myself, eyes glowing bright,

Knowing of my kin and their desperate plight.

But there’s nothing I can do,

Except to offer a sad look, through amber hue.

The Loss, Dominique Goodall

 

anthocover3.1-20140706-134201LupusAnimus, a charity anthology with 33 contributing authors. Paperback and eBook now available, with the release party coming on 26/07/14! Don’t miss out on all these awesome prizes.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

UK Kindle: http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B00KWL0GGA

US Kindle: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00KWL0GGA

UK Print: http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/1499793634

US Print: http://www.amazon.com/dp/1499793634

Join the party: https://www.facebook.com/events/410656962410331

About jenniferloiske

Jennifer Loiske lives in Finland in Naantali, which is a small sunny town on the southwest coast. She is a pre-school teacher by profession but she stayed at home when her youngest daughter suffered brain fever, which developed severe epilepsy in 2004. She is a workaholic Teen/Young Adult author, who loves dark fantasy, teen movies, chips and candies and warm sunny days. She’s also very keen on charity work and a big part of her royalties goes to the charity; mainly to help families with epileptic children but also to the epilepsy units in the hospitals. As a huge fan of dark novels Jennifer's bookshelf is full of books from L.J. Smith, Alyson Noel, Stephanie Meyer, Chloe Neill, Michelle Rowen, Jennifer L. Armentrout, Amanda Hocking and Lauren Kate. She’s also a huge fan of music from Evanescence, Linkin Park, Within Temptation, OneRepublic and Disturbed. But her hunger for music is endless and depend on what mood she’s in or what kind of book she’s working on. She can be pretty much an omnivore when it comes to music.
This entry was posted in Wow Wednesday and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

