Jalpa Williby reveals a snippet of her upcoming novel, My Perfect Imperfections!

Today I have something special for you! Jalpa Williby reveals a snippet of her WIP (work in progress)! Jalpa the stage is yours.

 

authorpicThank you. Although I am an author, I’m also a physical therapist. I’ve been a physical therapist for over twenty years and have met some wonderful patients. My current work in progress is about a girl with Cerebral Palsy. I’m hoping to release it by the end of this year. Normally, I don’t write this genre, but I felt that it was important that I write this story… their story. The title is “My Perfect Imperfections” and here’s a prologue for it.

 

Prologue

“Congratulations! You have a beautiful daughter. Oh and by the way, she has Cerebral Palsy.”

I always wondered how the doctors broke the news to my parents about my diagnosis. I used to visualize the whole scenario.

“What are you talking about, Doctor? What does that even mean?” I could picture my mom asking, her eyes filling with tears.

“Well, is this curable? What is the prognosis?” Dad would ask, always the practical one, looking for answers.

“I know this is a lot to take in. It’s a neurological disorder. There are things we can do to help. Lily can go through intense physical, occupational, and speech therapy. Actually, she’ll probably need therapy most of her life. I have pamphlets I can give you…and you can read information about Cerebral Palsy. Oh, and I can give you references to some really great support groups. I mean you’ll be surprised how many parents have to go through this type of thing…” The doctor would ramble on and on, never really answering the questions directly.

Dad probably got angry, his voice getting louder. “Look, Doc, I just asked if she’s going to get better. That’s all I want to know!”

Mom most likely started crying quietly to herself, knowing in her heart why the doctor was being vague. I could see both leaving the doctor’s office with more questions than answers, fearing their lives had just turned upside down.

*****

My name is Lily Cooper. I am seventeen years old, and I have Cerebral Palsy. What exactly is Cerebral Palsy? According to Webster, it is “a disability resulting from damage to the brain before, during, or shortly after birth and outwardly manifested by muscular incoordination and speech disturbances.”

Blah, blah, blah. I hate stupid definitions.

I’ll tell you what I know of Cerebral Palsy. It sucks. I can’t move my body the way I want to move it. I’m mostly confined to my wheelchair because I can’t walk without assistance. I can’t even feed myself because my arm is not able to bring the damn food to my mouth because of my inability to coordinate my muscles. I know what I want my arm to do, but it won’t cooperate no matter how hard I try. Didn’t I tell you it sucks?

But I’ve lived with it for seventeen years. And nobody understands my body more than me. None of those doctors, none of those therapists, not even my family. And through the years, I’ve learned to make the most out of it. I actually can drive my wheelchair with my head and talk with my device, again controlling it with my head.

It hasn’t been easy. No, it hasn’t been easy.

Thank you for sharing this with us! Although I rarely do genre jumping, I can’t wait to read this book! 

Cheers,

Jen x

P.S. Tomorrow we’ll be exposing ourselves for something that every author dreams of but only some gets…

 

About jenniferloiske

Jennifer Loiske lives in Finland in Naantali, which is a small sunny town on the southwest coast. She is a pre-school teacher by profession but she stayed at home when her youngest daughter suffered brain fever, which developed severe epilepsy in 2004. She is a workaholic Teen/Young Adult author, who loves dark fantasy, teen movies, chips and candies and warm sunny days. She’s also very keen on charity work and a big part of her royalties goes to the charity; mainly to help families with epileptic children but also to the epilepsy units in the hospitals. As a huge fan of dark novels Jennifer's bookshelf is full of books from L.J. Smith, Alyson Noel, Stephanie Meyer, Chloe Neill, Michelle Rowen, Jennifer L. Armentrout, Amanda Hocking and Lauren Kate. She’s also a huge fan of music from Evanescence, Linkin Park, Within Temptation, OneRepublic and Disturbed. But her hunger for music is endless and depend on what mood she’s in or what kind of book she’s working on. She can be pretty much an omnivore when it comes to music.
This entry was posted in Author's Corner and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

