Author Interview: Scarlet Le Clair

This is an interview I’ve been dying to do since…well, since a very, very, long time. Scarlet has stood by me as I’ve been stumbling on the rocky road called ‘writer’s life’, she’s been the first to yell ‘I love your vampire books!!!’ the minute they’ve been published, and she has kindly agreed to join my awesome writing team as my latest beta reader…and if all that’s not enough, she’s been shamelessly promoting me wherever she has found a crack, nominating me and my books to all kinds of cool contests, sharing my work all over and…well, you get the picture. She simply is an amazing wonder-woman, who keeps surprising me with her kindness and selflessness day after day. I am so proud I can call her my friend.

Yes, I can hear what’s going on your mind…why haven’t I done this interview ages ago? Because of you, my dear readers. Scarlet’s previous books are for adults, and adults only. And since there are a lot of teens and young adults among my readers I wanted to keep my blog clean-ish. So, you can imagine my overwhelming joy when she published a zombie book. I really, really love zombie stories and I know so do most of you! Anyways, today, on this beautiful Friday evening, I give you Scarlet. 

13116506_234974920198427_5969657200347439100_oBio:

Scarlet Le Clair lives in a small village, in the welsh valleys, UK.
She loves to read and can mostly be found with a book in her hand.
Her first two published books are erotic romance, but her third book released in May 2016 is her favorite genre of all; Zombies.

Fb page link: https://www.facebook.com/Scarlet-Le-Clair-1471894406452845/

Scarlet, how did you end up writing a zombie book? I know you’ve written a several books in a completely different genre so why the change? Is there more coming = is this a part of the series?

Yeah my first two full length stories are erotica. But before I had released them I won a short story competition for a piece called ‘Goodnight my sweethearts’, a zombie short story that had to be under a 1000 words. It was about a woman trapped in her bedroom with her two children and surrounded by zombies, her husband is missing and they are getting more desperate by the hour. It got me thinking, where is her husband? Is he dead? What else could keep him away from his family? And so George was born! George was meant to be a one off. But I have had some amazing feedback since its release, asking for more books in the story.

Zombies have always been my fave part of the horror genre.
There is something about them that both terrifies and fascinates me.

13173979_234973940198525_5653526790282805186_nTell us a bit about the characters? Who’s your favorite and why? Is there someone you hate? Did you write a person who is real into the book = is the nagging neighbor in it or the grumpy old man you see on a buss and who always says nasty things to the other passengers?

George and Will are my faves. George is an amazing family guy, who looks tough with his tattoos on the outside but is a big softie at heart. Willing to do anything for his family and friends. Will is another fave, he finds himself in a real bad situation, one that he could leave at any time but he chooses to stay to protect others. I didn’t write it with anyone in mind, however when I was most of the way through the story I interviewed Model Elman España for my blog and found he was perfect for George! Some people are put off by his tattoos but if they would take the time to speak with him they would see that he is a really good guy, who is really dedicated; like George! We got to talking and it turned out that he had a perfect picture for my cover.

The plot in one sentence:

One mans desperate struggles, trying to get home to his family during a zombie apocalypse.

Short ones:

Favorite book? Harry Potter, In the secret Garden,
Favorite food? Rocky road cheesecake and anything with Reese’s peanut butter in or on it.
Salty or sweet? Sweet
Vampire or a demon? Vampire
Kiss or a hug? Hug (Here we call it a ‘Cwtch’)
Night or day? Night
Your hero? My husband and Captain America lol.
One word advice to the aspiring authors? Determination

What’s your next project? Even if it’s erotic book, you can tell us a bit about it 😉

I have a secret project going on at the moment. It will be an erotic fan fiction that I am co authoring with Lizzie James. I am also planning a George 2 now that my fans have spoken lol.

Thank you so much! George is on my TBR list, on second, so I should be having a quite good time on the beach pretty soon! Please, check out the blurb of George and the links after it. Let’s all get onto the zombie zone this summer! 

13390843_10153692831892358_236746951_nGEORGE:THE LONG ROAD HOME
SCARLET LE CLAIR

It’s the start of a Zombie Apocalypse. George and his family did as instructed by their government, securing their home and await the day they will be saved. But their rations are running low and it would seem that no one is coming to help. Desperate, George leaves his family and heads out to find supplies and hopefully someone to help him and his family. What was supposed to be a few hours of searching, ends up with him being held captive by a local gang leader by the name of Deacon.
Now, not only does George face down zombies he must also fight humans. With the safety of his family on the line, he’s forced to stay away. Till the day he can escape, his family must survive without him. And so begins the long road home for George, but with multiple enemies in his path, will he make it back in time to save his family or will he lose the battle against the zombies and humans both vying to destroy him.

YouTube book trailer: https://youtu.be/aNgiHW_IMNI
Amazon US: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01F9E8N8C/
Amazon UK: https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B01F9E8N8C/
Amazon AU: https://www.amazon.com.au/gp/aw/d/B01F9E8N8C/

About jenniferloiske

Jennifer Loiske lives in Finland in Naantali, which is a small sunny town on the southwest coast. She is a pre-school teacher by profession but she stayed at home when her youngest daughter suffered brain fever, which developed severe epilepsy in 2004. She is a workaholic Teen/Young Adult author, who loves dark fantasy, teen movies, chips and candies and warm sunny days. She’s also very keen on charity work and a big part of her royalties goes to the charity; mainly to help families with epileptic children but also to the epilepsy units in the hospitals. As a huge fan of dark novels Jennifer's bookshelf is full of books from L.J. Smith, Alyson Noel, Stephanie Meyer, Chloe Neill, Michelle Rowen, Jennifer L. Armentrout, Amanda Hocking and Lauren Kate. She’s also a huge fan of music from Evanescence, Linkin Park, Within Temptation, OneRepublic and Disturbed. But her hunger for music is endless and depend on what mood she’s in or what kind of book she’s working on. She can be pretty much an omnivore when it comes to music.
This entry was posted in Seven minutes with Jennifer; Interviews and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

