A little thing can make a difference…

40089201_m

I strongly believe that paying good forward will eventually come back to you. So far this maxim has brought me so much joy and happiness that no deed can measure it. Some of us remember the video that got around on Facebook…the one where a person helped another, the another helped the next person, the next one helped someone else…the deeds were not big. A young man helped an old lady cross the street, the old lady comforted a little girl who had fallen down, the little girl opened the door to a mother with two heavy shopping bags… You get the idea. So when a dear friend asked for my help with his project in Nepal, I was all in. 

What Petri has done is a great example to all of us…life is a bumpy road but even if you fall, you can climb up with a right kind of attitude. There are millions of things you can do to help others and by doing so getting onto your own feet again as well. It doesn’t have to be as big as he did…start small…make a one good thing today…next tomorrow…

Petri, the stage is yours…

Petri PertaPlease, tell us a little bit about yourself:

Thank you, Jennifer. I am a family man, 46 years of life behind me. I live in Espoo, with my lovely family. I was a marketing director. That is, before one day I was informed that my services are not needed anymore. This gave me an opportunity to re-evaluate my career and things that I want to do in my life.

To give you an idea of myself I need to go back in time a little bit. I was a paratrooper in the army and after that I wanted to fly planes. So I went to States and flew private pilot`s license. Studied construction business, went to study in Copenhagen languages and business in general, started Asian studies, and studied in Singapore about Asian culture.

After that I got my real first job where I worked for 13 years, ending up to be a managing director. At the same time I also continued studies in many ways. Did BBA in business and administration, Managing director course and many more. These years were really good and rewarding in many ways. What I try to say is that I have always been an explorer, a person who needs to be constantly in some kind of move. Life has so many interesting things to offer and I want to see and feel that I am evolving as a person.

However, I have come to realize to harshness of working life in general, the not so nice side of the business life. So after losing my job I felt that I wanted to do something that really matters. Something that could make a difference.

I was introduced to Kapua Nepal project by my colleague and I was instantly intrigued. Timing was perfect to apply because I knew I would be out of job this year. Also, I know I have been fortunate in my life. I have a good education and have had good jobs that have given me an opportunity to do things in life. So it is time to give something back.

Kapua gives me an opportunity to see what the money is really used for. I will be visiting the Nepalise schools to see the kids that gets the help. I also have personal ambition to see the highest mountain in the world, Mount Everest. It is something that awes me for sure. There is just something magical in mountains. So the whole Kapua is making me to re-think my purpose of life, work life, helping others, doing things collectively, what it is to be a fund raiser in this era… and so much more. Through Kapua I have a chance to see old friends, meet new ones, arrange events.. I think that this project has given me only positive things. It has made me to realize what in this relatively short life is important.

Petri paljun korjausBecause it is difficult just to donate money I have tried to collect the money by offering something in return. So far I have arranged restaurant day twice, rowing event, repaired “things” for my neighbors, renovated facilities… I’ve sold extra goods that my neighbours has given me, cleaned windows, collected bottles from streed side, sold my own things in the flee market and so much more. I am really ready to do any kind of work to collect the money and pursue my goal that is 5545€. Our group (20 people) are really trying to beat the old record and collect more that 100.000 euros which is a lot. This money will be then multiplied 6 times by our foreign ministry!

What next?

I don`t know yet. I am going to Sweden this weekend with group of 30 boys to play football. I try to live more in the moment, to see what life brings to me 🙂  So far it has brought me everything that I need to learn, and I believe that it will continue to do so. There has been some suggestions to apply some positions, but not yet. I use this time that I have now to think what I should be concentrating my next 20 years of working life. That is a long (short) trip, but I want to do something that has a good purpose. Something that will serve me, my family and many more.

We are living more and more self centered life, but maybe we need to change a little and go backwards in time. Take it a little slower, listening to our own inner thoughts and feelings. Be present for each other more. Forget Facebook and such at least once in a while. Life is full of surprises and they will come to you when you have an open mind. I look forward to very positive things.

My motto in life is: I find the great things in this world are not so much where we stand, as in what direction we are moving: to reach the port of heaven, we must sail sometimes with the wind and sometimes against it – but we must sail, and not drift, nor lie at anchor.

Great summer time to all Jennifer`s readers and thank you Jennifer for your support!!

Together we are more!

%22Perfect getaway for teens!%22

Readers!!! All profits from McLean Twins series during the midsummer weekend go to Petri Kapuaa! It’s a win-win! You get a chilling, nail-biting, hide-under-your-blanket kind of read for teens, and Petri gets some help for the kids in Nepal! Hurry up! Purchase the whole series here!

I know you are all itching to know more about Kapua now, so keep reading!

 

 

Kapua_logo

What is Kapua?

Kapua raises funds to help developing countries by climbing mountains. Kapua has collected more than 600 000 euros since 2006 to support people and environment in developing countries. The funds are channeled to destination countries through reliable and well-known Finnish organisations. Kapua has worked together with Finnish organisations such as YLE Helps (founded in 2004 by Finnish Red Cross, Finn Church Act Alliance and Unicef Finland), Save the Children Finland, The Family Federation, Plan and WWF Finland.

Kapua has given nearly 200 Finnish people the opportunity to participate in international development cooperation. People of Kapua are ordinary people, who have a desire to help and to challenge their own boundaries. Participants are selected through an open search. A group of 20 people will raise funds for the selected destination. The group will travel to their destination country and have an opportunity to see where the collected funds will be spent. During the trip, the group also faces the physical challenge of climbing a mountain.

Kapua is an unforgettable experience for the participants, a “Once in a Lifetime” trip. For companies Kapua offers broad visibility in supporting a good cause. For organizations Kapua is an effective fundraising tool and a channel to highlight the important work that is done in the target countries. However, the main beneficiaries are the people in developing countries, in which conditions will significantly be improved with the help of collected funds.

DSC07853KAPUA 2016 NEPAL

The eighth project, Kapua 2016 Nepal raises funds to support education and health in co-operation with The Family Federation, Taksvärkki ry and Kynnys ry. The goal of Kapua 2016 Nepal team is to raise a total of 100 000 euros to support education and health in Nepal and Central Asia. In November 2016 the selected group will travel to Nepal, where they will get to see in practice how the collected funds are used. Thereafter, the group will climb to Mount Everest Base Camp and Kala Patthar (5 545 m). The personal target for each team member to raise is 5 545 €. Check out the people of Kapua 2016 Nepal group.

Thank you, Petri, for visiting my blog. I’m sure I’m speaking on behalf of all of us when I wish you nothing but good in the future. I wish we could travel to Nepal with you, but since that’s not possible, you are more than welcome to come back here after the trip and let us know the next chapter of Kapua Nepal. Oh, and I expect to see lots and lots of pictures!

Cheers,

Jen x

About jenniferloiske

Jennifer Loiske lives in Finland in Naantali, which is a small sunny town on the southwest coast. She is a pre-school teacher by profession but she stayed at home when her youngest daughter suffered brain fever, which developed severe epilepsy in 2004. She is a workaholic Teen/Young Adult author, who loves dark fantasy, teen movies, chips and candies and warm sunny days. She’s also very keen on charity work and a big part of her royalties goes to the charity; mainly to help families with epileptic children but also to the epilepsy units in the hospitals. As a huge fan of dark novels Jennifer's bookshelf is full of books from L.J. Smith, Alyson Noel, Stephanie Meyer, Chloe Neill, Michelle Rowen, Jennifer L. Armentrout, Amanda Hocking and Lauren Kate. She’s also a huge fan of music from Evanescence, Linkin Park, Within Temptation, OneRepublic and Disturbed. But her hunger for music is endless and depend on what mood she’s in or what kind of book she’s working on. She can be pretty much an omnivore when it comes to music.
This entry was posted in Charity and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

